New iMac user about to buy

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Lkjc81, Oct 11, 2015.

  1. Lkjc81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #1
    hey guys and girls,
    I'm about to buy my first iMac and am feeling a bit nervous about which model and how much memory I need.

    Can I walk into an Apple Store and buy or do I have to order?

    I'm going to be using it in my bookkeeping business and I'm known to run emails, multiple programmes through web browsers and also office suite programmes, I'm looking at the 27" (no Retina display) and 8gb memory? Is this enough or should I upgrade?

    Tia
     
  2. jordanz macrumors member

    jordanz

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    #2
    For your usage it sounds like 8GB would be more than fine. You can actually upgrade the RAM on iMacs yourself though, it's very easy and cheaper to buy it third party than apple's options at time of purchase. So I'd suggest starting with the base 8GB ram and if you feel like it could be snappier, add an extra 8GB stick in yourself later on.

    It might be worth waiting a day or two to re-evaluate model choices however - there are rumours that the iMac range is going to be updated this week, possibly Tuesday.
     
  3. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #3
    I'd suggest maybe buying in store as well, if you can get the spec you want there. The only reason I say this is so that they can give you a quick little tutorial.

    But what you have described so far seems like it will do the job easily for the tasks you want it to do.

    its not complicated just takes a little getting used too, if you have been with windows for example. If not just ask on here :)
     
  4. Lkjc81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #4

    Thank you, I was thinking of going Friday so glad I waited an extra week.
     
  5. Lkjc81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #5
    Is it easy to upgrade your self or do you have to pull the screen apart?
     
  6. Lkjc81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #6
    Thank you, so most stores do stock them? I might even give them a call before I head in there.
     
  7. Aspekt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    #7
  8. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #8
    Yeah I think most of them (if not all) will have 8Gb standard then after that depends how much storage you want etc.

    You might be better of going down there as they will be able to show you what they have, they can then help you choose the best model for your needs.
     
  9. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #9
    The RAM is the only internal part in the iMac considered by Apple to be user-accessible. Therefore it is easy to get to, with an access door on the back. Here's Apple's own guide: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201191#1
    The process is actually exactly the same for both the non-Retina and Retina.
     
  10. Laserducky macrumors regular

    Laserducky

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #10
    Make sure you get the SSD or Fusion Drive at a minimum. These will be BTO (built to order) and probably not available from the store. Give the HDD a wide berth and invest in a good SSD/Fusion Drive. You will not regret it.

    Cheers !
     
  11. Eric Best macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Location:
    Tamworth, NSW, Australia
    #11
    Hi, Lkjc81. This might not be useful information for you, but, from my personal experience, I might suggest you reconsider not going retina with the 27'' display. I have a non-retina 27'' iMac and a retina 15'' MacBook Pro, which I initially bought for portability. Now, I prefer to use the MacBook at home ahead of the iMac, because of the fatigue value. Using the iMac, I start to feel drained after a while, but I don't at all on the MacBook. I put it down to the quality of image.
    Just because this is my experience, it need not be yours. But it could be. So, for what it is worth, if you can trial both screens for a while, you might be doing yourself a favour.
     
  12. deany, Oct 12, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2015

    deany macrumors 68020

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #12
    Is there a reason you want 27"?
    I'm not being funny and certainly dont want to offend 27'' owners but only get 27'' if you need it like having two windows open at once.

    I never watch TV and am 50+ so maybe I'm 'old school' but I think these big TVs and imac screens look ridiculous and are not really needed.

    I think a fire place should be the 'focal point' of a living room not a huge 50"+ flat screen TV.

    I think 21.5'' retina SSD _if you dont need_ 27'', may be ideal.

    I would go to the store and work out which programs you are going to use, would a 21.5" be enough?

    Remember you have a 14 day no quibble return policy with apple.

    Again I dont want to offend 50''+ TV owners with 27'' imacs

    cheers
    ps
    I would get 512 SSD minimum 8 GB RAM
    also if you are new to mac and 'nervous' as I was not long ago, I would _consider_ a rMBP 13'' and auto hide menu & dock in El Cap
     
  13. Lkjc81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #13
    What's wrong with the HDd?
     
  14. Lkjc81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #14

    I need the bigger screen as I run multiple programmes on the screen at the same time, I may even plug in a second monitor as well. I currently run with 3 smaller screens, so I am thinking the 27" will mean I can get away with just two.

    I have used Mac in an old job years ago and always use ipad and iPhone so know my way around, I'm more nervous about the right specs that will last me a few years.
     
  15. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #15
    The HDD is the slowest part of any computer using it, this ancient technology has been holding back computers and making a mockery of chip and RAM speed advancements for at least a decade
     
  16. Lkjc81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #16
    Thank you
     
  17. Laserducky macrumors regular

    Laserducky

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #17
    I've seen people invest in more RAM and processor upgrade without realising that with a HDD, you are still stuck with a bottleneck that the extra cash would have easily fixed.
     
  18. techguy69 macrumors regular

    techguy69

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    #18
    And by the way if you didn't know, Apple updated all iMacs today and the entire 27 inch line has a Retina 5K display now regardless of price or specs, so you came at the right moment ;)
     
  19. Lkjc81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #19
    The one I'm looking at has 1tb serial ata drive @7200rpm, is this the one I should avoid?

    And spend $160 on the 1tb fusion drive?
     
  20. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #20
    I use a 7200rpm HDD daily. However that money for the upgrade is pretty insignificant compared to the performance gained.
     
  21. Lkjc81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #21
    Thank you
     

Share This Page