New iMac Wifi Issues

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jp2123, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. jp2123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #1
    Ok so I feel like throwing this thing to the wall. I bought a new iMac cause I work with computers. It seems after the last update this stupid wifi is not working anymore. Works for 5 second and then goes off. Can anyone PLEASE help me?
     
  2. waldo3125 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    #2
    I just got my new iMac today and have been having issues with the wi-fi... Same settings as I used from my older Macbook (and I migrated the exact settings from Time Machine). Not only is my wi-fi much slower than normal, I also get disconnected from the network VERY frequently (it's happened as I'm writing this reply). I know its not the network because my Macbook, iPhone and Kindle all work with no issues.

    Does anyone have any ideas as to why this might be happening? I could even live with the slower speeds, but the disconnects are very annoying.

    Thanks!
     
  3. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #3
    Try to not have too much devices connected to the same wifi router
     
  4. waldo3125 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    #5
    Thanks everyone for the help. Nothing worked, but I called AppleCare and they helped and now everything is working :)
     
  5. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #6
    What was the solution ? Because we have another person with the same issue
     
  6. waldo3125 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    #7
    There are multiple steps that Apple walked me through... Basically, I reset my network connection to its factory settings by deleting the networks I currently use, but then also deleting the settings files on my hard drive. After all that was done, I then reconnected to my network (which is on a college campus) and haven't had any issues since. It was a fairly quick process even over the phone.

    I'm sorry I can't remember each step, but yea basically I just reset everything in my network and deleted all network setting files on the hard drive.
     

Share This Page