New iMac wireless problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ^squirrel^, Sep 2, 2007.

  1. ^squirrel^ macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi all,

    Just been to a clients to setup their new mac and i have one problem.

    When i reboot the machine it doesn't auto connect to their wireless network. I have to select it from the wireless icon and select their network name.

    I have selected their network as a preferred wifi network but it doesn't make a difference.

    My laptop connects fine, so it's not the router.

    Can anyone help me out.

    Many thanks

    Darren
     
  2. WarMace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #2
    First thing, check the System Preferences to make sure it is set to automatically connect.
     
  3. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Where about is that?

    Do you mean the bit "By Default Join: Automatic" ?
     
  4. WarMace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #4
    Yep, that's it. If it's set to automatic and it's not working, make sure that if the network has any security enabled that the password is saved in the keychain. You could also manually select the network from the pulldown so that it only connects to that network and doesn't look for any others.

    Good luck
     
  5. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Just seems really strange it's doing this. I've set up loads of mac's before and not had this issue.

    I will try again tonight and get back to you.

    Thanks

    EDIT - Just connect on ARD. The machine is set to Auto and the password is saved in the keychain........ any ideas on where to go from here?
     
  6. Cyclotrode macrumors regular

    Cyclotrode

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    Is the wireless router by chance a Linksys? I had the same problem with trying to connect my MacBook Pro to wireless a few months back and found out that it was the Linksys router firmware causing the issue. After installing the correct firmware, the wireless came up with no problems.
     
  7. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    no it's a netgear dg834v3.

    it's ok with my powerbook g4
     
  8. FatSweatyBlldog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #8
    The issue could still be the firmware. Did you double-check to see if there are any updates for the router?

    Also, the G4 is a PPC chip, the new iMac intel, so that also might account for a difference in performance between the two macs vis a vis the router.

    Let us know the solution when you find it...good luck!
     
  9. Mactosh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    York UK
    #9
    I had a similar problem with the new iMac, which I worked round by unhiding my network's SSID.
     
  10. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England

Share This Page