New iMac ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by redleg72, May 10, 2011.

  1. redleg72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #1
    So im thinking of getting a new iMac to replace my current PC. I talked to the guys at the Apple store and they said if i bring in my old PC they can do a data-transfer. They said i would be able to pick up the new Mac the next day.
    So my question is, I have an iPad with all my music and pictures on it, would i be able to hook the iPad up to the new iMac and do the data transfer myself? I have a few other docs that i could put on a CD and try to install those that way.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    In my experience when you connect the ipad to a new computer and try to sync it, it tells you it's a new library and it must erase it. So I transfer my stuff from my PC on my network myself. It's as easy as copy and paste.

    I imagine their data copy service works with the default folders in windows. Thing is, I don't always use the default folders. I have all kinds of data in a variety of locations. Only way to know it's done properly is to do it myself.
     
  3. Dresevski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowda
    #3
    I prefer transferring my own files around. That way you know where everything is and can reorganize the trees if necessary. It's not worth paying them to do it for you (in my mind). However, if it's free and you don't really care then I guess it could work.

    Since you're using a PC now, have you used a mac before? Maybe it will be a good intro to the system. You'll be forced to navigate around
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    iPad or any other iDevice can only be synced with one Mac so it would be erased if you try to sync it with your new iMac. Transferring data is easy so just get the new baby back to home and then use e.g. an external HD to transfer the data.
     
  5. Rangerjim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #5
    ipad

    So do you just lose everything on the Ipad/Ipod when you try to sync with another computer? I'm hoping to get an Imac, but I don't want to lose the items on my Ipod (purchased movies, apps, &music). I'm sure there's a way, but I didn't see an Itunes folder with all of those items in it.
     
  6. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Yes.

    Sync it with your PC and all that stuff is on there. Then just copy and paste. It's in Music - itunes - itunes media

    Then on the new imac you just need to authorize itunes but that's just a button click. Then import your stuff. I just pasted everything into the itunes media folder and then I dragged and dropped my mobile apps and books into itunes. But did an "add to library" on the music. Everything works find and dandy and now I sync my ipad with the imac.
     
  7. Rangerjim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #7
    itunes

    I don't see an Itunes media, but i did find an Itunes folder and within that, a "mobile applications" folder and "library" files, so I guess I can just drag the whole Itunes folder over and hopefully that works. I didn't see the movies in a seperate folder, but hopefully they carry over with the library.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  8. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    There should be a seperate movies folder. There is on mine....

    Make sure they do transfer before you erase anything on your PC.
     
  9. Rangerjim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #9
    found it

    Dug a little deeper and found the "movies" folder buried within the itunes music folder.

    Thanks for the help Archer75
     
  10. redleg72 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #10

    ok, so i have used a Mac before, although it was a long time ago. i had an Apple Performa back in the early 90's.

    so i have all of my music, pics on a Western Digital 500gb hard drive. so from what you said i can just plug my hard drive into the new iMac and transfer data that way? just want to make sure....
     
  11. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    Copy and paste. Whether it's over your network or through an external. It's all you have to do.
     
  12. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #12
    Just have the store do it.

    There's more than 'pics' and 'music' that you need to transfer.
     

Share This Page