new iMovie woes

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DoFoT9, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    i have been having problems importing footage from my dv camera onto my new iMac al (see sig for specs).

    when importing the footage is all laggy and skips at least every 5 seconds. im very turned off by the new imovie, i tried importing the same tape onto my mbp and it turned out perfectly.

    has any1 had the same type of problem??

    DoFoT9
     
  2. DoFoT9 thread starter macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    ok so aahh now imovie wont even open, saying that i need a "quartz extreme gpu to open this application"...


    what gives?
     
  3. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #3
    Sounds like you may have a bad install of iMovie. First try to erase the preference file, and re-launch it. If that doesn't work, consider re-installing the app.
     
  4. DoFoT9 thread starter macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    great idea. i got rid of the preference file, still no beans though.

    uumm im presuming imovie comes with the new leopard disks that i bought????

    or the tiger disks that i got with my al imac???
     
  5. ThomasShaped macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #5
    It should be on the disks you got with your iMac.
     
  6. DoFoT9 thread starter macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    okidoki i shall do that in the morning (currently 1am)
    bedtime !!!!
     
  7. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #7
    It can be a little tricky to find them on the install disc, but usually there is a folder or installer called something like "install Mac software" or something like that.

    Sleep tight!
     
  8. tsd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #8
    Before you reinstall iMovie, first see if the problem persists if you create a new user account on your system, and try the process in that new user account.

    If you have no problem in the new user account, then the problem is with the old user account; not the software.

    Also, I'm one of those weirdos that thinks resetting the PRAM helps just about everything. Hold down "Command", "Option", "P", "R" while restarting your system. Continue holding down those keys until you hear the Mac startup chime twice. Then release the keys.

    Oh yeah, you can also try resetting the power controller. You just shut down the Mac, unplug the power cord, and leave it unplugged for at least 2 minutes. Then plug it back in and start up the Mac.
     
  9. DoFoT9 thread starter macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    ok i tried it in the other (main) admin account. imovie seems to work fine. im jsut importing the tape again to see if it skips again....hhmmm

    thanks for the tips :)
     

Share This Page