New info on wifi issue: "it's the OS" ..returned my iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ZiggyCat, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. ZiggyCat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #1
    Personal backstory: It's been 2 weeks since I bought my iPad so had to make the decision today. After a morning of dropouts we decided to head down to the Apple store to see if there was a fix in the works, and if not, return it.

    The Apple store told us that it was due to our Verizon Actiontec router and that we needed to contact Verizon. So, we called Verizon tech support while at the Apple store. Verizon acknowledged it was a new and known "problem" but said they had no solution at this time. Since neither Apple nor Verizon could offer support, we decided to return the iPad.


    While we were at the Apple store another woman was trying to return her iPad. Unfortunately she did not have the original packaging, and the manager told her she was out of luck. So if you're going to return, keep your packaging!

    Meanwhile a google search turned up these new articles.
    "Princeton network engineers have officially blamed the iPad's OS rather than the device itself"


    http://www.tgdaily.com/mobility-features/49402-princeton-isolates-ipad-wifi-problems

    Original paper, with tech details of the issue:

    http://www.net.princeton.edu/announcements/ipad-iphoneos32-stops-renewing-lease-keeps-using-IP-address.html

    We both loved using the iPad. Hopefully they will resolve the issue soon.
     
  2. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    Sucks dude.

    FTR, I've had absolutely no problems with my iPad and wifi anywhere I have used it since I got it on launch day.

    As you can see from the poll results in this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=898711 most members here have not had problems with their iPads either.
     
  3. GamecockMac macrumors 6502a

    GamecockMac

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #3
    Bingo. No problems with the iPad accessing Wi-Fi seems to be the experience of the vast majority of users. Sucks for those who are having problems, but those people always speak the loudest.
     
  4. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #4
    Apple packaging is cool. Why would you ever throw it away.
     
  5. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #5
    I can't say for sure but it seems like a lot of the issue are with the crappy routers builtin in cable or DSL modems.
     
  6. noah82 macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    Its a widely known fact that it's a os issue. This will be fixed soon.
     
  7. ZiggyCat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #7
    True, that is why I kept the packaging. :D

    The Apple store manager said iPad uses a different/faster protocol (?) than the iPhone, Macbooks, etc.... which is why iPad loads up Safari pages quickly, but also why the problem exists with iPad and not other Apple devices.

    I'm not a tech geek but I do like Apple products. Aren't people like me the reason Apple is so successful? We are drawn in by the beauty and simplicity, and just want to use and enjoy the product, not reconfigure routers, understand transmission wavelengths and hit Ctrl+Alt+Del every time it crashes ;) That sounds like the other brand....
     
  8. kes601 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #8
    I've always had problems with the Actiontec wireless. I bought an Airport Extreme a couple years ago and set it up in bridge mode. Not a single wireless issue since.
     
  9. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #9
    My iPad also has an issue with remembering the password for my FIOS router. Other wifi locations have been fine. It's obviously a software issue, and apple is obviously working on fixing it.
     
  10. danpass macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #10
    I admit to having that as my second thought (right after "The OS? Wouldn't everyone have it then?")


    But it seems that its certain hardware(firmware) matchups


    :apple:
     
  11. Merlosso macrumors 6502

    Merlosso

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #11
    The FIOS workaround is easy and has been discussed in numerous threads.

    1. Change from WEP to WPA
    2. Change the channel to 11
    3. Forget the network on the iPad
    4. Reconnect
    There is obviously a problem with wifi on the iPad that will surely be addressed but until then, these changes have worked for me and nearly everyone else that has tried it.
     
  12. EddyP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #12
    OK. So Princeton claims it's DHCP leases.

    I cannot believe I have not had a problem. I have a gazillion things on and off my network each day. :confused: I do exactly the thing they claim causes the issue all the time and I have never had a problem. I don't get it.
     
  13. Nash Bridges macrumors regular

    Nash Bridges

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #13
    Is the fix called iPhone OS 4.0?
     
  14. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #14

    Yeah your right.

    Umm front desk at the Hyatt? Yes do you mind patching me through to your IT dept?
    Yes IT... can you do me a favor and change the settings on the hotel network so my iPad can jack in?

    Thanks!!!
     
  15. GamecockMac macrumors 6502a

    GamecockMac

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #15
    It's very likely the fix will be called iPhone OS 3.2.1. :rolleyes:
     
  16. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #16
    Really? A gazillion things?

    Consider that:

    1. You are probably not actively watching DHCP leases.
    2. The issues most people are having are unrelated to this issue Princeton found.
    3. You probably don't have nearly as many devices leasing IPs as Princeton does, and you likely have much longer lease times.

    You should have just said "I don't get it" or not posted at all.
     
  17. 0101001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #17
    No problems at all on my 3 so think it might have been yours.
     
  18. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #18
    I'm still trying to figure out why my iPads time lost track and why I had to reset it. :apple:
     
  19. jedolley macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #19
    I'm not going to deny that people are experiencing problems.

    Personally, i've not had any issues with wifi on my 5 iPads:eek:. These iPads were replacements due to screen issues (dust and pixel). I've also have been using my iPads on a several different network configurations.

    AT&T DSL w/Wireless N dual band router
    Roadrunner w/Wireless N dual band router
    Sprint Overdrive
    Sprint Mifi

    Personally, i'm surprised there haven't been more threads like this for screen problems. I guess i'm just unlucky, but I am glad it's finally over.
     
  20. EddyP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #20
    Wow. Thanks for the love!

    OK I may have exaggerated a bit. ;) But seriously, I have had devices with lease conflicts at home before. No, I don't actively watch them but I have never had the issue they claim at Princeton. I have had to setup static IPs for some of them. I totally agree this is not the "problem" most people are having with their iPads. 5 computers. An iPhone. iPod Touch. Apple TV. Slingbox. iPad. OK 10 devices on and off the network.
     
  21. SqB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    #21
    Airport Express FTW! Now we just need an AP Express config app for the iphone/ipad.
     
  22. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #22
    I don't believe that. Every iPad has the same OS. Not every iPad has wifi issues.
    You don't need a Princeton professor to do the math on that.
     
  23. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #23
    Everyone needs to understand that the Princeton issue is not the same problem as the one that causes lost WiFi connections, which is clear if you actually read the Princeton report.

    Princeton's problem is that some iPads are having DHCP issues that can cause other devices to lose their connections. The iPads themselves don't even notice that there is a problem.

    The issue that many people outside of Princeton are having is that their iPad is losing its connection, which to repeat one more time is not what is happening at Princeton.
     
  24. lascott macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #24
    The good news is, all those people who had the default verizon WEP key for their router may change them to something more secure :D

    It's so easy to get the WEP key with just their SSID since it's calculated.

    Also I've not seen any hotel using WEP, it's usually just been wide open.
     
  25. jalpert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #25
    So according to Princeton the problem with the iPad is the DHCP lease. Yet, one of the solutions is not to use a static IP? Seems kinda fishy....
     

Share This Page