New iPad and iTunes

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Penfold2711, Apr 20, 2012.

  1. Penfold2711 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #1
    Is it just me or when you check out the devices on your iTunes account it shows the new iPad as the iPad 2 wifi + 3G or is it just me??
     
  2. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #2
    Not just you. My WiFi one shows as an iPad 2 as well.
     
  3. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    If you set up your 3rd Gen iPad from an iPad 2, iTunes will recognize it as an iPad 2.
     
  4. Macman45, Apr 20, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2012

    Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    ^^^

    This

    Setup as new with mine shows third generation, but your purchase information on the my products site will tell you the truth!
     
  5. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5
    That's interesting as I set mine up as new. I didn't restore from my previous backup. I'll have to backup and restore as new this weekend and give it a shot.
     
  6. tthip macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #6
    I set mine up as new and it registers as an iPad 2.
     

Share This Page