New iPad developer and Provision Profiles

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by DevSolo, Mar 12, 2011.

1. DevSolo macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I am more than a little flustered about this. I've tried searching, but can't seem to get a straight answer, so I figured I'd post a question. First, let me say, I'm extremely new to the 'mac world' (purchased my first macbook pro yesterday) but I've been a fan of the iPad and an owner of one since day one last year. I'm coming (hopefully) to iPad development after 15+ years in various regions of the PC realm.

Anyway, my question: Can some please enumerate the steps needed to get the "Development Provision Profile" installed correctly on my macbook pro?

I can't even determine if you need to spend the $99/year (I bought that this morning, but haven't received an email confirmation yet).

I have XCode installed and I'm eager to jump in, but for a company that takes tremendous pride in first impressions, I must say, this is slightly frustrating. A simple 'steps you can expect' on the dev page would go far.

Sorry for the rant and thanks for your time.

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

You must pay the $99 to get the profile required to install on any physical device. You need to follow the step-by-step instructions available once Apple have processed your order. This can take anything from a few hours to days depending on how long it takes them to do various things including verifying your identity.

3. DevSolo thread starter macrumors newbie

Rob,

Thank you for that. I assume (incorrectly) that it would be more straight forward than that. I did get a response, but I have an identity crisis, apparently.

I've never seen a community punch the gift horse in the mouth like this. If this wasn't for work...

Thanks again.

4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan