New iPad hung on install screen

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Kaizen, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. Kaizen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    #1
    Hey all. As the thread title suggests, I just tried to install ios6 on my new iPad and after downloading the software and restarting, its hung at the install screen with the apple logo and the progress bar. I've left it for about 45 minutes but the progress bar hasn't moved at all.

    Any suggestions on how I can resolve this?

    Thanks
     
  2. jbachandouris macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #2
    The only thing I know to do is to press and hold the power button and home button. That will enter DFU mode and iTunes will prompt you to restore your iPad. Not sure if it will make you re-downlad the software, but it might.

    I'm stuck in slow internet hell. My download will take 4 hours if I stay at this location and no, the iPad won't stay in DFU mode that long. :(
     
  3. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #3
    Sounds a bit longish...

    But I'd say, plug it in so it doesn't run out of juice.
    Go play xBox, mow the yard, whatever. Come back later.
     
  4. jbachandouris macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #4
    I'm at mom's (756K internet). Need to go home to my Roadrunner Turbo. Its just that I'm iPhone-less until Friday and wanted at least one iOS device working. Oh well...
     
  5. Kaizen thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    #5
    Well, it looks like plugging the iPad into my iMac resolved it, thankfully. A few minutes after I connected the iPad it restarted itself and ran the ios6 intro steps.
     
  6. floridonet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #6
    Add me to the list. I rebooted and now it's going again. We'll see what happens. This is what I get for being an early adopter.... :eek:

    ----------

    Doing a reboot did it. I'm rolling on iOS 6 now.
     

Share This Page