new ipad in UK - keep getting connect to itunes screen!

Discussion in 'iPad' started by rphiggins, May 4, 2010.

  1. rphiggins macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #1
    I bought my ipad in NYC last week and flew straight back to uk
    Connected it to my imac, connected to itunes and synched a whole load of music etc.
    Disconnected and played for a bit, then went to bed.
    Switched it on in the morning and got the connect to itunes screen. Ended up having to restore from the backup.
    Played with it again and all ok.
    Went on holiday a few hours later and on the plane tried to use the ipad but got the connect to itunes screen again!
    I am now away for a week with no laptop to connect to and have an ipad that just shows the silly connect to itunes screen.

    Any help? Anyone else had this problem?

    Thanks
     
  2. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #2
    Sounds like a corrupt/faulty flash drive?

    My iPod touch was doing the same thing after 7 months. They gave me a new one so I guess you're gonna be one of the first to check out replacing one in the uk stores, unless you go back to America again.
     
  3. RKID084 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #3
    I've just had the same problem - bought from eBay, sync'ed, and then crashed.

    I must have tried restore / DFU restore about 50 times, with iTunes spewing 'Unknown Error (9)' every time. I've just sent mine back to the seller :-(
     
  4. rphiggins thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #4
    Registration process?

    Thanks - I will try it again when I get home.

    One thing I did do is switch wifi off before closing it down so I could use it when I got on the plane.

    Finally, does anything clever happen when you register? I just plugged it into itunes on my imac which is connected to my uk itunes account. At no time did it say resitration complete or anthgin like that?

    Otherwise I will try and take back in the UK!
     
  5. crescent09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #5
    I got this problem too.
    Got my iPad from the NYC about a week ago too and then I didn't do anything to it except just browsed through it. I didn't even play with the settings at all. Nor connect to the web or do anything with the iTunes.
    The next day i turned it on, it got connect to itunes screen :(

    ps @ rphiggins how did you manage to restore from backup? isn't the ipad like stuck to that iTunes screen only? how did it manage to respond to the connection? :(

    all my iPad can do now is switch off. switch on. take picture of the screen. and the accelerometer. :confused: any advice on how to deal with this?
     
  6. sadsack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #6
    Do you have a UK itunes account and did you activate in store or when you got home? This maybe an issue with the fact that the iPad only works with american ipad app store right now and when you try to connect via a uk account it causes a few issues and pops up with errors.
     
  7. rphiggins thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #7
    locked ipad

    I connected to itunes in the uk with my uk itunes account. I have bought ipods and itouch from NYC before and activated at home in the uk.
    When it did it first time I was still at home and restored from the backup on my imac. I am away now and can't do this - though I did try with a hotel laptop but wasn't allowed to upgrade itunes.

    I guess it will either work when I restore at home in th uk or not.
    Annoying to carry around nice but dead bit of kit!
     
  8. sadsack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #8
    I activated mine in the store with the help of the assistant. I also have a USA account and used that to do my initial sync. Not tried to sync with uk account on my mac just incase it goes wrong. Might be worth setting up a USA account.
     
  9. rphiggins thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #9
    price paid

    Just for info - got my credit card and after conversion to £'s etc it came to £390 including the case ( $44?) - so if it works it would be £70 cheaper than uk....
     
  10. rphiggins thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #10
    something new

    I am carrying on with my story in case others have the same issues....

    Back in the uk now and connected to itunes and restored the backup.

    But on rebooting the ipad itunes comes up "can't recognize ipad so disconnect and reconnect". I did this a few times and no change.

    I was using the ipad cable but connected to a powered usb hub, so plugged it directly into imac. This seemed to help and it went through the restore again.

    It now seems to work BUT the option to use wi-fi is greyed out and it just says no wifi?

    I have tried reseting all network settings and it still says no wi-fi under the setting option.

    Broken?
     
  11. Tulipone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    Huntingdon UK
    #11
    When I got mine, they were testing all before you left the store. The guy that did mine didn't really want to get into any detail but I wonder if this is a known problem?
     
  12. bluefox9er macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #12
    boy am i GLAD i resisted the urge to buy one from the states for this very reason..if it doesn't work you are screwed as it isn't an international warranty.
     
  13. Tulipone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    Huntingdon UK
    #13
    ...but it is a great excuse for another holiday in the US.
     
  14. Fonzmeister macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal - Lisbon
    #14
    Were these iPads activated using an US or an UK account?
     
  15. Fonzmeister macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal - Lisbon
    #15
    Apple warranty is international.

     
  16. rphiggins thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #16
    good news

    I took it into the Birmingham (UK) Apple store and they did a DFU (?) and now it seems to be working. A bigger test will be synching tonight to my own imac.

    In terms of international warranty then they are unsure what the position is until 28th May. They are happy to help on software side but not sure if there was a hardware problem. They suggested the ipad has been classified as like the iphone and only subject to local warranties.
     
  17. lillumultipass macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #17
    what do you mean by that? Did they suggest that even after the 28th, the internation warranty won't work?
    There seems to have a lot of confusion about this issue, which worries me a bit givent that I am supposed to get a US iPad on Wednesday...
    Any thoughts?

    Thanks!
     
  18. spinstorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #18
    Clearly until the iPad is out here it's impossible to know for certain about fixing hardware problems in the UK with US ipads.

    BUT the warranty does appear to be international and as all ipads are unlocked or are just with wifi I don't see any reason why it should matter.

    I question if when they type the serial into there macs if it even says where it came from - I bet it doesn't. So unless they ask you they probably would assume it's a UK iPad.

    We all know that the Apple stores are occupied by people who actually are pretty clueless about everything except what they are "allowed" to know about...and I doubt that US ipads in the UK will come up in there iPad training!
     
  19. samuelmacdaddy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #19
    hi
    i had a problem with my us ipad, in that the screen had not been fitted correctly and there was a visible gap between the screen and bezzel.

    i went in to my local apple store in the uk and they registered my ipad and filled in an i-repair form stating the problem and that they will replace it with a new uk model on uk launch day.
    hope this helps regarding the worldwide warranty:D
     
  20. bluefox9er macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #20
    I was told categorically in my local Apple store by an employee (without green hair and jeans worn around his ankles) that an iPad purchased in the US will not be covered in the UK
     
  21. rphiggins thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #21
    Warranty

    My iPad is still working and I am posting this on the train with iPad

    My iPad was fixed at a uk genius bar. I was told warranty position will be clarified once they are in stock in uk. May be different for 3G and non 3G.
     
  22. rphiggins thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #22
    Broken again

    After 2 weeks of perfect use, my ipad is broken again.

    For the past 2 weeks I have rediscovered the web and have been happily surfing for few hours every evening.
    I decided to clean the screen this morning so switched it off fully, cleaned it (which isn't easy) then when I switched it on I got the connect to itunes screen!
    Had to restore it via itunes/Mac and then I was back to having the wifi and bluetooth greyed out ie disabled.
    Eventually tried the connect to Mac hold buttons for 10 secs and force and full reset and I now have it back working fully.

    I am the only one who has this problem?
     
  23. Tulipone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    Huntingdon UK
    #23
    I wipe it down with a large camera cleaning cloth. It cleans all the finger marks off dead easy and have had nothing like you report.
     
  24. pascalt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #24
    I have the same problem with my iPad 64 GB Wi-Fi + 3G :(


    Do you still have the problems? Or do you have any solution?
     

Share This Page