Resolved New Ipad2 IOS Version?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Macman45, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. Macman45, Jan 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012

    Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #1
    A buddy of mine got an ipad2 for Christmas. I'm trying to help him set it up on a Windows PC at arms length.

    He say's the OS version out of the box is 4.3.x? Anybody confirm that new ipad2's ship needing the update to IOS5?
     
  2. Hongkongfu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #2
    well there is no jailbreak after 4.3.4 for now (a5 devices) so tell him to upgrsde to 5.0.1 will he can cause pod2g is working on the jaiobreak , apple will relase 5.0.2 soon and then it will be to late to go to 5.0.1
     
  3. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    Not Looking To JB

    I just need to confirm that the os is 4.x out of the box. Anyone who got one for Christmas in the UK should be able to confirm this.

    He isn't techi at all, so before I configure iTunes on his PC i want to know if the device DID actually ship with 4.x....Talking him through the update will be difficult...I will have to be there to do it with him.
     
  4. x5tuu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    #4
    yeah mine was on 4.x and subsequently upgraded it to 5.0.1

    it was a John Lewis unit
     
  5. Macman45, Jan 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2012

    Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    Thanks

    Off I go later....He won't cope on his own and will end up with a brick. I think his was from JL as well....Thanks for the info.

    Jeff
     
  6. Hongkongfu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
  7. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
    No You Are Not

    It's brand new. He isn't good with computers and I will have to set it up for him.
     
  8. Hongkongfu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #8
    is easy ... just put it to itunes click the update buttons thats it , even my grandma could do this ...


    it can not end up in a brick ...
     
  9. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #9
    Trust Me

    He can brick ANYTHING I have installed Windows 7 three times in the last 12 months....I do all his stuff, it's safer!:D
     
  10. sleepyyellow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    The heart of Europe (Switzerland)
    #10
    I bought mine on the 28th and i had ios 5 on it...switzerland here
     
  11. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #11
    Just Verified

    His came with IOS 4.3, I guess it's just older stock, yours will have a later manufacture date.
     
  12. alflavor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Whittlesey, UK
  13. gpsouza macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #13
    Mine was 4.3.3 out of the box. Purchased in 18th december... Portugal here
     

Share This Page