New iPhone 3Gs with iPhone 3G SIM card

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by arabprlnce78, Jun 11, 2009.

1. arabprlnce78 macrumors newbie

Hi,

My GF finally wants to get an iPhone now since her old Sprint contract expired and the price is $99. Thing is she wants a white one which doesn't come in 8GB. I've have a new white 3G for a few weeks now. I wouldn't mind getting the new 3Gs phone. So I offered to pay the difference for the new 3Gs and give her my 16GB white which is still new. Would she be able to port her Sprint number over to AT&T, buy the 16GB 3Gs and have AT&T activate it than swap SIM cards and trade phones with me? She gets a 16GB white phone for $99 and I get a 3Gs for $100. Is this doable? I called AT&T and they said no. Once the phone is activated to her it's hers only and her number stays on it. I would need to buy a new 3Gs if I wanted one. I'm very new to phones with SIM cards and don't know if they are just trying to get me to spend the money on a new phone. Thanks in advance for the info.

AP

2. skubish macrumors 68030

skubish

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

Yes you can just swap SIM cards.

3. Icaras macrumors 603

Icaras

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

Sorry for the noobish question but how does one switch the sim card from the 3G to the 3GS?

4. arabprlnce78 thread starter macrumors newbie

More questions!

Thanks mate. So even though the 3Gs is activated to her and her details are on the SIM card we should be able to just swap cards? Tech told me if we tried swapping cards the phones would lock up and be unusable.