New Iphone SE/Old Iphone4s Whatspp Question

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by pauly800, Oct 3, 2016.

  1. pauly800 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #1
    I have an old iphone 4s that has tons of issues with the battery. But also it lags a lot. I use whatsapp there with my mexican cell phone number. I have a mexican sim card in there that i use in mexico. I call and receive calls to and from the us with google hangouts number.


    I also use wechat as well. I will be using my new iphone SE. However, i want to backup my iphone 4s because i want to factory reset it to see if that could possibly fix the battery issue/lagging issue. Then store it with the backup from my itunes. First off if i do this, then everything in my iphone4s should look exactly like before i do the factory reset? Thus all my numbers, whatsapp and wechat will have the previous messages and contacts etc with nothing changes?


    On my new iphone, its an SE so i will have to buy a new sim card on it because the old sim card will not work. Now if i want to transfer whatsapp and wechat to this phone, can i do this? Do i just upload the backup from itunes into this phone? The thing is with whatsapp, you are suppose to confirm with them that you are the owner of the account right since whatsapp uses a phone number? For example, if i get a new sim card with my iphone SE in mexico, if i get a new phone number, could i transfer my whatspp number to the new number? Or if i use whatsapp on this new phone, i have to get a new account? I heard someone mentioned you can do this but you have to prove to be the owner of the whatsapp account on my other phone. So how do i even do this? Does that mean if i do this, then i have to transfer the same phone number on my iphone 4s to the iphone SE when getting a sim card for the SE?
     
  2. JayJohnPaul macrumors regular

    JayJohnPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Location:
    Dawnbreak City
    #2
    If you want to transfer your WhatsApp and WeChat data to your iPhone SE, all you have to do is backup your iPhone 4s (don't restore your 4s just yet just incase something goes wrong, do it later) via iTunes or iCloud (you could do both). Yes, everything (pictures, contacts, messages, app data, etc.) will transfer over to your SE once you backup and restore.

    After restoring all your data to your SE, all you need to do is go to your WhatsApp (sometimes you're asked to re-enter your number, so enter your old number) and head over to Settings > Account > Change Number to change your number. You can still continue using your old number but just make sure you still have access to it.

    You don't necessarily need a SIM card for WhatsApp to work, you just need a valid phone number and have access to it for the verification code that will be sent to you via text.
     
  3. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #3
    Hey there. I backed it up to itunes but i dont see it anywhere. Can you tell me where its located. I only have about 10gb worth on my iphone 4s. The backing didn't take that long so i assume it worked?


    The thing is with my SE, i dont have a sim on it at the moment. Can you just reenter the number while there is no sim there? Thus when i get a sim, it will be a mexican telcel sim. So just have everything backed up on iphone 4s to my itunes, then go to that option on whatsapp... enter the phone number associated with it, then everything on the iphone SE which has no sim at all will look exactly like my whatsapp on iphone 4s now? Okay i read you dont need a sim card for whats app to work. But heres the thing. Im not in mexico now so if i do this now, i will receive a text on my whatsapp? This is free of cost right? Reason i ask is b/c im not in mexico now.


    Okay so once i do this, could i log into the whatsapp on both my iphone se and the iphone 4s? I did this with wechat and if you log in one, i think it logs my wechat out of the other. But what about whatsapp?


    And heres the other thing. So i have my whatsapp things on this iphone SE. If i were to get a new sim for the iphone se, then i will get a new number right? Could i use the old iphone 4s number? But no matter which number i choose, i have the same whatsapp messages? But what happens if i get a new number then? Would i still be able to access my whatsapp on the iphone 4s if i have both phones?


    What if i only bring the iphone SE with me back to mexico and not bring the iphone4s. Does that mean i wont be able to keep the same number because Telcel would require proof that im the owner of this phone number that i want to keep? If so, could i just take the sim card out of this iphone 4s and thats enough? Or will i need to bring the iphone4s along with the sim card in order to do this?


    Would you suggest i get a new phone number on my iphone SE assuming i still want to use the iphone4s with me in mexico? The reason i want to keep my iphone 4s with me in mexico is because i still have credit left on the phone. Or could i transfer all my credit to the new phone? And if i do this, then i have to keep the same number right? Right now im deciding between keeping the same number or not. Because if i get a different number, doesn't that mean i have 2 phones with credit on it? Of course the other expires if i dont reload credit to it every month. But if i keep the same number, well that means i only have one phone number, still have to buy a new sim... but i still would be able to transfer the credit to the new phone with the same number? If so, which of these is better? Also i believe some people who keep the same number on new phone use the same pin on the new phone so they dont have to buy a new pin right? However, my iphone 4s uses a different pin than the iphone SE so that means 100 percent i have to buy a new pin right? Now let say my iphone is 5s. Its same sim as the SE. That means pretty much most peole just switch sim cards right and thus keep only one phone since you dont have to buy a new sim card?
     
  4. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #4
    I did this to my itunes on my laptop. However, how do i do this with dropbox? I go click upload files on dropbox but which program/file do i type? I went to apple software folder but i dont see the roaming folder?


    Also when backing up iphone4s to my computer, i see an option that says automatically encrypt iphone backup and that includes passwords and everything else to be backed up. Is that suppose to be checked or not? I backed iphone 4s to my computer but not sure about this. I had leave it checked. The reason i didnt use icloud was because i had issue logging into the account.


    Thanks
     
  5. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #5
    I have wechat on iphone 4s. I also have new iphone SE. I want to transfer everything from the wechat history on 4s to the 6SE. I see an option to data migration on the wechat on my 4s. I select all the people that i want to save the messages. Once i do this, it mentions i have to scan this QR code with my other iphone in order to bring these wechat history to the new phone. Can someone explain this? How do i even turn on the camera on the SE or whatever to do this.


    This makes no sense. I googled backup wechat data and i do not see any mention of this. Also those articles mentioned click on data backup whereas on my iphone 4s, it shows as data migration?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    Okay i got it to work. Please disregard this thread.
     
  6. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #6
    Iphone 4s has whatapp. The number that is connected to it is a mexican cell phone number. I bought a new iphone SE. At the moment, i want to backup whatsapp because i want to do a factory reset on my iphone 4s. Then backup whatsapp and everything on the iphone 4s first.


    First off, the first thing i should do is do iphone backup right? The thing is i did the backup to my computer. So that should be good enough? However, i still need to backup whatsapp separately right if i want the chat history? Well heres the problem. It seems to ask you to backup it up to icloud. Is icloud the only way or can you use dropbox or google drive etc?


    The thing is if i do this with icloud, i have an apple id icloud with this iphone4s. I have the username/password. The issue though is i do not remember the answer to my 2 security questions. Does this matter at all? Or i only need to know these 2 security questions in case i forgot my apple id/password? Because i did a backup of whatsapp to my icloud. But i want to make sure when i do the factory reset, i wont have any issues backing up because i dont remember answer to my security questions. I have the apple id and password though. So i done all the backing up i needed? Thus i backed up iphone 4s to my itunes on my computer. And i backed up whatsapp to icloud. Thats good enough?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    I want to do a factory reset of my iphone 4s to see if it would make my iphone a bit faster. Also after im done with this, i want to eventually backup whatsapp on my iphone SE. Here is my issue though. The apple id on my iphone SE is a new one i created when i bought the iphone SE. The apple id on the iphone 4s is a different one where i backed up my whatsapp to it.


    Will there be any issue with this? The reason i ask this is because with my iphone 4s and went to icloud and went to my apple id, how come i cannot log into another apple id of mine on it? Thus on my iphone SE, if i want to restore my whatsapp messages on it, i certainly need to login to my other icloud right on the iphone SE?


    Thanks.
     
  7. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #7
    I think i backed up my iphone 4s to my icloud. It does show last updated to icloud as recent just like to my computer. When i log into my icloud 4s apple id account on the computer, where are the backed up files? When i click on contacts, it does show all my contacts.


    But where are my programs? Where is my whatsapp backed chatlogs? I went to settings and it shows 4.18gb available out of 5gb. So is my whatsapp backed there? I see an option below that is advanced that gives options like restore file and contacts but when i click on each of these, shows no files to restore...
     
  8. JayJohnPaul macrumors regular

    JayJohnPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Location:
    Dawnbreak City
    #8
    Yes, it worked. It doesn't take that long, it all depends on the size of your back up. 10GB isn't that much, usually takes less than 5 minutes to back up. Head over to https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204215 to find out where your backup is located.

    Yes.

    Yes.

    Does your SIM card from Mexico work in your current location? If not, then obviously you won't receive anything. And yes, it's free.

    No, you cannot log in to one account at the same time just like WeChat.

    You should be able to access your chat with your old number while the new SIM card (new number) is inserted. If you do ever change your "WhatsApp number" then yes, you'll still be able to use your previous Whatsapp data.

    Yes, but like I stated above you can't log to one account on two devices.

    Since you've successfully restored everything to your SE then there's no need to bring your 4s or the SIM card with you. Just make sure everything works before leaving the country.

    You don't need a new number or a new SIM card, your old SIM card should work perfectly on your SE. Your 4s uses a micro SIM and your SE uses a nano SIM which is smaller than the Micro SIM. You will just need to cut it to fit your SE. 4G/LTE may not work since your old SIM card probably does not support it, until then you're stuck with 3G. You may need to request a new nano SIM card (old number) from your Carrier once you're back in Mexico. Not really a big deal unless of course you want a faster internet speed.
     
  9. pauly800, Oct 4, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2016

    pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #9
    John thanks for the information. Well i will be bringing my old iphone 4s with me.


    The thing is i want to factory reset my iphone 4s so i can see if it works faster then i restore my backup.


    I have another question on this. You say i backed up my iphone 4s on my computer.


    I also backed up my whatsapp but is icloud the only way to back it up? I mean the whatsapp chat history etc. I did back it up to my icloud. However when i log into my icloud on the computer, i see my contacts. Where is my whatsapp chat history backup? I see an option on icloud at the bottom where it say restore files, when i click on it, doesnt show anything. Neither does restore contacts. On icloud there is 5gb total and after backing it up to icloud it shows 4.18gb free. Is that right or wrong?


    The thing is if i have 10gb used on my iphone 4s, does that mean i can backup my iphone to icloud or not since its only 5gb? Of course that 10gb includes the OS right? Im very confused here.


    Here another thing. My apple id for the icloud is the iphone 4s that i created a while back. My apple id for icloud on my new iphone SE, i used a different email address. Is there a program with this when i want to transfer my whatsapp chat history to my iphone se? In my iphone SE, i do not need to transfer any files or videos to the SE. I already transferred my wechat history to it. The only other one i need to do is whatsapp. The music and pictures, i dont mind this as i can later transfer it back.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---


    My sim card in mexico displays tmobile here in the usa. I dont make calls, text or use data with it due to it being very expensive but main issue is i dont have much credit on it. But if its a message sent to my whatsapp, theres no cost. But if its a message sent to my phone number, it will cost. The phone number attached to my whatsapp is my mexican cell number. Can you use a usa number for the wechat? I have 2 phone numbers. One is my mexican cell number that i use for calls to people in mexico and receive calls in mexico mainly through whatsapp or sometimes phone call. My other number is a google hangouts number that i use in the us and mexico and it can call to us and canada and receive calls free of charge. Is it bad idea to change my number connected with whatsapp with this? Or thats a bad idea since its a usa number? Its a google voice number and not a number from a carrier but it works perfectly for making and receiving calls and text messages etc.


    But right now i want to factory reset my iphone 4s while here in the usa first to see if it solves the slowness of my iphone 4s and then have everything on my iphone as it did before. Can you confirm what i need to do with this with my icloud issue and the fact that it doesn't seem like it take a lot of space so not sure if i backup up my wechat history correct.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    So backing up iphone 4s to itunes on a computer basically backs up Whatsapp chat history and Wechat history? Thus you dont have to do all these 3 things separately??
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    Okay im having an issue here. I had backed up my iphone 4s to my itunes and also to my icloud though not 100 percent sure if so on icloud.

    I backed up my whatsapp on icloud.

    When i did the factory restore and pressed the erase and files and data etc, it reset. I did this while having itunes opened already on my laptop and also had connected my iphone to the laptop because the battery is low.

    I got message hello to set up my iphone. Message on iphone shows connect to itunes. But it does show downloading xx out of 1.51 gb on the downloading logo on the itunes on my laptop.

    So i just have to wait for now?
     
  10. JayJohnPaul macrumors regular

    JayJohnPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Location:
    Dawnbreak City
    #10
    No, it's an alternative to iTunes. You seem to be very confused so I suggest you to just stick with iTunes, just forget about iCloud entirely. As far as I know the WhatsApp backup data can only be viewed on an iPhone, iPad and on iCloud.com, not currently at home to check if it's viewable on iTunes.

    No, not really. It's all your data.

    On your 4s, go to Settings > iCloud > Sign Out > Delete from my iPhone then log in to your new Apple ID (the one you're using on your SE) and then backup your WhatsApp data on your 4s by going to WhatsApp > Settings > Chats > Chat Backup > Back Up Now. The WhatsApp backup should pop out on your SE once you install WhatsApp simple as that.

    I never used WeChat so I wouldn't know, also I never heard of Google Voice number before.

    Yes!

    Yup! Just keep me updated.
     
  11. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #11
    posted this on another thread. can you help with this issue?


    I have an iphone 4s that i wanted to factory reset because its very slow. I backed it up to itunes. I am not 100 percent sure if i backed it up to icloud or not but i believe i did. The issue though is i used about 10gb total out of 16gb on the iphone 4s.


    On the icloud backup, it only show 4.12gb free out of 5gb on icloud. Does that mean i did not backup my iphone 4s to my icloud? On my itunes previously, it did show i did back it up to icloud.


    When i did the factory reset, i believe it worked. The issue is the message that shows up is restore from this backup... then shows my name backup. I do this and it ask me for my password. Is this my apple id password for itunes? I put that in and it did not work. Or was it a password for my iphone? I don't believe i have a password for my iphone so very confused here. Can someone tell me which password its asking for? I did change my itunes app store password very recently but i know both of these passwords and neither of these work. I do recall when i backed up my iphone 4s to itunes and possibly icloud, there was an option where its automatically checked for password and i left it on. Can someone tell me what my password should be? If its not the app store password, which one is it?
    --- Post Merged, 7 minutes ago ---
    Oh man i read online this isn't the same password as my apple id/icloud. If thats the case how in the world can i restore back up data? What in the world is that itunes password? Did i create one when i first got the iphone or something? The thing is this iphone 4s i bought used on ebay many years ago. So that means i dont have this password?


    Does that mean if i unchecked the thing near the backup, that meant i would not have needed this password? The thing is i needed to factory reset it asap so i left it the way it was.


    Do you know what i can do here?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    If i cannot restore from my iphone 4s, does that mean in itunes i will have to setup as new iphone then? Then try to back it up from my icloud? Im not sure if i backed it up correctly to icloud or not but before this, it did show me backing it up to icloud. However, if it works, there should be no password right? I had that password thing that was default checked checked. Or it does but its only the icloud password? Because i do have that one.


    Can anyone else tell me what are my options here? I need to restore everything by tonight. I checked online and they have programs like irestorepassword etc but its not for iphone 4s, its for 5 and up.


    This is very frustrating as i thought once i backed my iphone 4s on itunes, then i find out there is some itunes password which i have never even heard of.
     
  12. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    MOD NOTE: Please try to keep your issues in a single thread.

    B
     
  13. JayJohnPaul macrumors regular

    JayJohnPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Location:
    Dawnbreak City
    #13
    I'm sorry to say this but you screwed up.

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205220
     
  14. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #14
    Hi there. But what is that password then? Was it when you first got the iphone? The iphone 4s was not new as i bought it used on ebay a while back. So only the original owner on the iphone knows what the passcode is?


    The other issue is i read threads online where most people have no clue what the passcode is. If thats the case, how do they even know what this is? Is it the first password that they use on itunes? Theres a lot of threads where people mentioned no one had a clue what the password is.


    Well i believe i backed up my iphone 4s to my icloud though. So can i backup icloud to my iphone4s to see whats there? Im guessing most of the things are there but all the pictures, videos etc are not? I read online icloud backs up everything except pictures, videos unless you have photostream on?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    Okay so this means 100 percent i cannot backup from my itunes on my computer? Does that mean i cannot back up from icloud or i can?


    And if i do this, do i back it up from icloud on the itunes app? Or i can only back it up from icloud on my iphone or computer?


    If this is from icloud on the itunes, i know you highlight icloud but do you put a check mark on encrypt iphone backup? Then i know you click restore backup. Or would this not work since it requires the same itunes password which i not have?


    I did back it up to icloud on my itunes. But for icloud.com, im not sure if i only did it for whatsapp or iphone 4s?
     
  15. JayJohnPaul macrumors regular

    JayJohnPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Location:
    Dawnbreak City
    #15
    Idk, I never really bothered messing with the encryption backup feature. It's supposed to be unchecked by default, looks like you may have accidentally checked it in the past. Some say it's the first password used on the iPhone during activation (obviously by its previous owner) and others say it's your computer's password. Is your computer passcode protected by any chance?

    Why don't you try restoring the backup to your SE?
     

Share This Page