Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

neoelectronaut

Cancelled
Original poster
Dec 3, 2003
I've been using Apple's previous model In-Ear earbuds for about 3 years now, and I love the things. I saw that they released new ones along with the new iPods. I know they don't come out until next month but I was wondering about product compatibility.

The info page on the store says they only work on the new iPods there were released. But what I liked about the old ones is that I could use them on my computer, on my DS, PSP, and even TV if I wanted to. Are these really only compatible with the new iPods, or are they referring only to the mic and remote features?

For that matter, wouldn't the remote work fine for the previous iPod Touch, but not the mic?

I know alot of this won't be known until the general public gets their hands on 'em, but I was just curious as to if anyone knew anything I didn't.

mzd

macrumors 6502a
Jul 25, 2005
Wisconsin
they should work fine for music for all devices. the remote and mic features will only be compatible with the new iPod touch and nano and classic as described on Apple's site. this is because the additional features "travel" through additional rings on the plug. older devices aren't designed to read from those rings.
i too have been using the old Apple in-ears and love them! i'm really looking forward to the new ones.

neoelectronaut

Cancelled
Original poster
Dec 3, 2003
Well dang. I wish they offered the earbuds without the remote & mic then. I'm sure that's tacking on another $20-$30 to the price.

madmaxmedia

macrumors 68030
Dec 17, 2003
Los Angeles, CA
Well dang. I wish they offered the earbuds without the remote & mic then. I'm sure that's tacking on another $20-$30 to the price.

No, because the normal earphones with remote and mic added is the same price as the old earphones.