New (late 2015) iMac owners -- Did you update to 10.11.1? Any problems?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sakumar, Oct 23, 2015.

  1. sakumar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #1
    I got my 27" maxed-out iMac yesterday and after 9 hours of transferring data from my old iMac, the first thing I did is to update to 10.11.1. That's when many weird things started to happen:
    • The startup progress bar started several times. Eventually it got stuck at 2/3 of the way and the screen went blank.
    • I called AppleCare and they suggested I reinstall El Capitan. I installed 10.11 and that seemed to go well, but when I updated to 10.11.1 things went to bizzarroland once again. After several progress bar attempts it actually booted up and gave me a login screen. But I noticed that the Application directory was empty. All it had was a Utilities folder and that too was empty.
    • While on the 3rd call to AppleCare suddenly files began to appear in the Application folder. But when I clicked on Google Chrome it beach-balled for some time and then said there was something wrong with the executable.
    • They said try booting in Safe Mode. It came up, but again the Applications folder was empty.
    [​IMG]

    I was able bring up System Preferences (by clicking on the network icon on the title bar). But couldn't set anything:
    [​IMG]

    They connected me to the next level support specialist and she said I could swap out the hardware or get a refund since the Mac is less than a day old.

    But it doesn't look like a hardware issue. Perhaps some problem with the Fusion drive configuration?

    Anyway, have you updated to 10.11.1 on your new iMac and is everything OK?
     
  2. MandiMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #2
    My iCloud account just gave up. Resetting as new, deleting the iCloud setting and login again - didn't help. Damn.
     
  3. sakumar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #3
    OK -- but it doesn't sound as bad the problems I'm having. Looks like it's just me and I have a Genius Bar appointment this evening. So let's see.
     
  4. MandiMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #4
    Yeah, you're right - still I didn't expect putting 8+ hours in my machine before even using it. Hope I'm good in 40 minutes...all the best to you!
     
  5. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

    Sirmausalot

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #5
    The upgrade solved some of the Premiere Pro CC issues I was having.
     
  6. Lankyman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #6
    Any reason why you didn't simply use your TM backup from your old Mac to install on your new iMac instead of spending 13 hours transferring data?
     
  7. MandiMac, Oct 23, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2015

    MandiMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #7
    Because both Setup Assistant and Migration Assistant decided to freeze before the finish (around 3h when it said 2 minutes to go).
    Right now I'm doing exactly that: Reinstalling El Cap (I didn't have a Recovery partition out of the box), and then using Time Machine from that...4 hours to go.

    Edit: And the backup can't be the culprit, because it installed just fine on the old iMac. I had the time :D
     
  8. sakumar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #8
    My TM backup is on a NAS box (Synology) -- it is even slower than from a iMac with a wired connection.
     
  9. sakumar, Oct 23, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2015

    sakumar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #9
    Well, I ended up returning the iMac for a full refund. AppleCare told me to take it to the store ("they'll take you as a walk-in, don't worry, I've talked to the manager" said the AppleCare rep). The "genius" guy looked at me pityingly and told me to come back when I had an appointment. I got 6:00PM appointment but a text at 2:40PM saying, "we'll see you now" and then, "sorry you missed your appointment". What?! When I went back to the store (lugging the iMac in for the second time) they said someone could see me next week. I just got the refund.

    Story time: About 10 years ago Dell was flying high with the much vaunted inventory management system (yellow line and what not). I found out they were selling Canon 70-200 F2.8 Image Stabilization lenses for the price of non-IS. This went on for quite a while and a lot of people took advantage of it. I remember thinking, "Dell isn't what it is cracked up to be" and sure enough, events bore that out. Sadly, I felt the same way about Apple today.
     
  10. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #10
    I'm sure the new 5K's are coming with 10.11... I'd like to completely erase the HD and install a fresh 10.11.1 (Not 10.11 then upgrade to 10.11.1, but directly to 10.11.1)... What would be the best way to do that?
     
  11. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #11
    Yup, those stores are goofy with appointments... I hate having to do that. Why can't you just walk in a get sh*t done!
     
  12. sakumar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #12
    Yes, the one that was shipped on 10/22 had 10.11 on it.

    I'm not sure if you can do a clean 10.11.1 install. It would depend on whether the El Capitan installer App on the App store was upgraded to 10.11.1.
     
  13. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #13
    It was. I used it to do a clean install of 10.11.1 on my Mac mini.

    In order to do this on a new iMac, you'd need to download the latest installer from the App Store and then create a bootable install disk. I'm not sure if the installer can be downloaded to a machine already running El Capitan; if not, you'll need another machine running Yosemite or below. Apple has instructions for creating a bootable installer: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201372
     
  14. Gogol macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    I suppose that the rebooting with cmd-R (recovery console) will install the latest El Capitan.
     
  15. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #15
    Yeah, it probably will... I created a bootable USB with 10.11.1 on it... I'll just go that route.
     
  16. Lankyman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #16
    So is mine - well one is and one is on a TC. I tried doing a full restore from the Synology a couple of months back as if you don't try out your back up strategy from time to time how will you know if it works.

    I found the Synology worked very well indeed and only took a couple of hours for something like 350 gig.
     
  17. sakumar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #17
    My Synology NAS is a 2011 box and it works fine for Time Machine. I have used it several times to restore a Mac -- most recently after a hard drive replacement of my 2012 iMac.

    But this time I tried to upgrade directly from my older Mac because I was trying to see if back-to-back Thunderbolt would work. It didn't, so I ended up using wired Ethernet.
     

Share This Page