New Logic Board/Firmware/Boot Camp Issues

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CookyPuss, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. CookyPuss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #1
    Hello everyone.

    I have recently received my 2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 15 from getting the Logic Board replaced. I started it up and works like a charm, although, when I try to boot off Windows it locked up in the Windows logo/loading screen everytime. I was missing out on tons of updates so I completely updated all Mac software/firmware. I go to boot from Windows again, and now nothing. That partition of the hard drive is still there and I can access it through OSX. However, I can't seem to get it to boot. Do I need to go to an earlier firmware update? Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thank You,
    Peter
     
  2. Catch Them macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #2
    I think its not recognizing the prior logicboard configuration and its spazzing out.

    try booting into winodws, by holding F8 immediately after selecting the Windows partitions on start up.
    Select Safe Mode and see if that gets you through
    If does try restarting into Windows again

    If not press F8 again immediately, then select Last Known Good Configuration


    see if any of those might help for now.
     
  3. CookyPuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the reply Catch. I tried booting up in safe mode, but froze when listing a bunch of files (I have never booted in Safe Mode before). I then tried last know working configuration and I got to the loading screen! but then again froze after a couple seconds. Do you think this is a problem I could solve over the phone with Apple (I hear they know nothing about bootcamp/Windows)? Anyways, I'll keep investigating and keep checking back here. Thanks!

    Peter
     
  4. Catch Them macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #4
    booting into safemode takes a bit longer, it will pause for a minute or so then go into windows.


    Another option I'd recommend is if the safe mode doesnt work, use your windows cd and do a repair install,

    you just boot from the CD and select Repair Install and it will leave all your programs, applications and files intact, however you will need to reapply any and all Windows Updates.


    To do a repair install of windows;
    -Boot from the Windows CD (assuming its XP?)

    -When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below

    This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
    Windows XP to run on your computer:

    To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.
    To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.
    To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

    -Press Enter to start the Windows Setup.

    To setup Windows XP now and Repair Install , press ENTER.
    do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console).
    - Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
    - Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, END setup. After the reboot read Warning#2!
    - Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
     
  5. CookyPuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #5
    Thank you very much, will try soon and post results.
     

Share This Page