Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cheriz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 11, 2010
My MBP recently had its logic board replaced after it wouldn't power up. Now, seemingly every piece of software that I own needs me to input a serial # to re-register, which is a problem because some won't let me re-register with a serlai that has already been used, and I am missing others....

I think the problem is that the new logic board has a new MAC Address, however I am not sure, and even if that is the problem, I have no idea if/how I can fix the problem. Does anyone know if this is an easy fix or if Apple could fix the problem for me? Any help is appreciated.

Thx.

-Dan

chels18

macrumors newbie
Jun 12, 2010
hi, im no mac expert but I had a new logic board recently, but not had this problem.... ask apple if they can supply you with the correct serial code - they can't exactly leave you high n dry not being able to access you're software!

Good luck :)

Rithem

macrumors 6502
Jun 29, 2008
I just got my logic board replaced... so hopefully this doesn't happen to me.

revbarabbas

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2009
Contact the companies you bought the software from...explain what happened...most of them should send you either a new serial or they will release the serial from hardware lockdown for you...and for the software you lost the serials to...just contact them and explain you lost your serial and they should help you in some way. What is the software you are having trouble with?

jwhazel

macrumors regular
Sep 22, 2005
Yes, I did. Did you read the thread I posted? Besides, I didn't post this for you. I posted it for the OP.

He's saying that the individual serials numbers for his programs are not working, not that the board itself hasn't been serialized. He's going to need to contact the software vendors and attempt to deactivate the old serials and have new ones issued.

GGJstudios