new logic board

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tuty100, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. tuty100 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #1
    I need to get a new logic board for my macbook pro,
    i currently have 2.3gh I5 but i saw that a 2.7gh I7 is about the same price.
    can i use this or do i have to get the 2.3 gh :confused:
     
  2. macfan74318 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #2
    I dont think that you can but if the boards are identical (Connectors line up, Same power draw) then it could be possible. I would use the same model that came with your computer though.
     
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Try looking for a tear down on ifixit.com to see if it'll work.
     
  4. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #4
    Hmm... those are both CPUs that were used in the early 2011 model... so you should still be covered by warranty, or not?

    I would expect that the 2.7 GHz logic board works.
     

Share This Page