New low end iMac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by JE-Illustration, Feb 2, 2010.

1. JE-Illustration macrumors member

JE-Illustration

Yup it's another "should I buy this?" post?

1. Our budget will be $1700, but we'd like to not spend up to that full amount.

2. Our current macs... and you may laugh. One is an iMac G4 800mhz flat panel(swivel) we got back in about 2002. The computer I do my work on is a Power Mac G4 mirrored door drive 1.25ghz with 17" studio display.

3. I'm a graphic designer and illustrator so programs I use is Adobe CS2 creative suite, Dreamweaver & Flash 8, and the other basic mac apps like iPhoto. I really want to get into the CS4 programs lol.

With our first iMac we made the mistake by not going big... and went low end. We kicked ourselves after having the iMac for awhile.

So we've been looking at the 21.5-inch: 3.06mhz intel Core 2 Duo, 4gb ram, 500gb HD, Nvidia GeForce 9400M graphics New for $1,199.00.

The only difference in the next step up is the HD space (not worried about) and the graphics is ATI Radeon HD 4670 graphics with 256mb.

Question: Is the extra $300.00 worth it for the ATI Radeon HD 4670 graphics?

I think the reason going with low end this time doesn't bother us because it's just a big jump, going from a G4 to a Intel Core 2 duo.

The other question then would be should we look in the refurbished area on apple?... in a few days if the same iMacs are there some of them have the NVIDIA GeForce GT chip series... and only a hundred or so more... would that be a good move?

We ruled out the Macbook Pros since I doubt we need the portability as we don't travel.

Sorry for the long post, I guess the main issue is with the graphic chips. Thanks for any help in our decision.

2. JE-Illustration thread starter macrumors member

JE-Illustration

So after some long searching I came across this thread that pretty much answered my question.. http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-660899.html