Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bobbydaz

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 24, 2009
UK
I know the MBP is the laptop of choice for us graphics people but for me I'm looking for something to replace my iPad for my daily commute. I don't need to be able to do full on extensive photoshop work but the ability to work on InDesign files would be a bonus and just allow me to do much more than my current iPad set up. I would also like to use it in the evenings to work on my Wordpress sites, which I'm sure it's up to the job for.

I guess it comes down to portability and weight, I know the MBP is the more powerful machine but would a new MB serve my needs? I have a Mac Pro at work and a top end Mac mini at home so this won't be my only computer.

MarkW19

macrumors 65816
Sep 13, 2002
Surrey, UK
My rMB is coming on Tuesday so I'll be able to report more extensively then. But I'm a graphic designer too, and will be using it as my secondary machine (it will have the most usage throughout the week, but my 27" iMac will do any heavy lifting if I need it to).

For simple work like InDesign or Illustrator, I'm sure it will be fine unless you're going crazy with huge image files, loads of layers and stuff going on, etc. (which even my iMac can stumble at). Depending on the sort of work you usually do, I think it will be fine. I think the 'underpowered' thing has been drastically overplayed. It's not going to do Games, or 3D rendering or extensive video editing well; but for most other things - including basic graphics work - I don't think we'll have a problem.

People have complained about UI lag, but I get that on the 2015 rMBP 13" that I've been using for the last couple of weeks, particularly as you change the display resolutions. It seems more retina display based (that Apple hasn't optimised/sorted yet), rather than rMB specific. Still, I do hope they sort this soon.