New Mac Book Pro - What would you do?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by thomamon, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. thomamon macrumors 65816

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #1
    So I purchased the new 15 inch Mac Book Pro today, as noted earlier, the 2.3...

    Well, I find myself with a dilema. I just recently upgraded the memory and hard drive to my current Mac Book Pro. I am debating if I should swap out the memory 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 and put it in the new laptop which currently has 4GB 1333 MHz.

    Also, the new Mac Book Pro came with a 750GB HD, but 5400 RPM. I am debating on putting the HyBrid Seagate drive I recently purchased, 500GB into the new machine.

    Do you think swapping these out makes sense? What would you do?
     
  2. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #2
    It is probably not a good idea, even if it works. The best case scenario is that it will downclock. 8GB of RAM at the correct speed is a cheap as 75 bucks; I'd do that.
     
  3. kobyh15 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Swap the drives, new RAM at 1333.
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    The RAM swap won't work, as your new machine will not run with 1067MHz memory. The HDD swap would be fine, although you would probably have to do a reinstall from your restore disk before being able to boot it. You wouldn't lose any data though.
     
  5. thomamon thread starter macrumors 65816

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #5
    Wow, didn't realize it was that cheap! In December I bought the other memory and it was more then double the price!
     
  6. thomamon thread starter macrumors 65816

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #6
    Now I'm worried, how would I not lose any data? Just want to be safe.
     
  7. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #7
    It's just like upgrading the OS, it doesn't wipe data unless you reformat or intentionally erase as well. It's never a bad idea to have a backup, but you shouldn't have a problem.
     
  8. thomamon thread starter macrumors 65816

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #8
    Thanks!
     
  9. Leslie Tan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    keep your current new mbp 750gb disk for more space storage. the 7200 rpm and 5400 rpm does not make much of a difference if you are not into ssd.

    get a new 8gb ram 1333mhz from outside. its cheap anyway.

    if u are into performance, then every bits count such as 2.3ghz, 7200 rpm, 8gb 1333mhz or ssd even better.
     
  10. DarkFlame macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #10
    You should buy new 8gb of 1333hz ram for 75, get a 64gb sata 2/3 hard drive to to boot from (I got a Vertex 3 120GB SATA III for $275 but not really necessary) and put your oem drive in your optibay with a 25 dollar adapter kit. you can get an enclosure for your dvd burner and use it only when you need it. all of this only voids the warranty of the removed devices as well :)

    = dream setup.
     
  11. thomamon thread starter macrumors 65816

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #11
    This is the drive I have, its kinda inbetween SSD and regular drive...

    http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Momen...BF32/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1302583191&sr=8-1

    I am shopping for the RAM as we speak, lol
     

Share This Page