New mac for programming and career?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Hylekmi, Feb 20, 2012.

1. Hylekmi macrumors regular

Hey guys,
    I am currently a student and am taking a programming class. In the coming quarters I will be taking another programing class as well as alot of network classes. I am currently using a white MacBook 13'' that is slowly but surely dieing due to the use of all of these applications that I have to install for school(mainly eclipse, but i am using a lot of other programs for my network classes ) I went to the apple store today and the guy there recommended the 15'' MBP. I almost died when he told me that it was $1600(with student discount). My question is, is it worth the extra money for the 15'' or was the guy at the apple store taking me for a ride and I should just get the 13''?

Also, I have a Macbook that I am going to sell, How much should i put it on craigslist for? Its a 2009 2.13ghz core2 duo with 2 gigs of ram.

Thanks in advance!

-Mike

2. willieva macrumors 6502

I use an older 13" mbp for non work related programming(we use Linux at work) and its fine for eclipse, things like wire shark, and running two vm's simultaneously for network programming. The screen is, however, rather small. At home I hook it up to a 24" monitor most of the time. If you're going to be using your mbp on the go then the extra screen real estate of the 15" is worth it if you can afford it. I'd even go hires if possible. For home use a 13" with an external monitor would be great.

If money is a concern you might be able to get some more life out of your current setup by adding some memory. 2 gig is really not enough. I have 8 gig in my 2.4ghz c2duo mbp(2010) and its fast enough.

The longer you can hold out buying a computer, the faster your next one will be.

3. Hylekmi thread starter macrumors regular