new mac freezing up

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by miguellovesjesu, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. miguellovesjesu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    so i got one of the new macs that came out in october, and so far it hardly ever freezes. I have the 15" MBP 2.4Ghz. So yesterday my computer just froze on me 3 times already. I have no idea why and it just gives me this image:

    [​IMG]


    I wasn't running any heavy programs, just my browser and my iTunes. Anyone know why it does this, or how to find out what is freezing my computer? thanks i appreciate the responses
     
  2. darkpaw macrumors 6502

    darkpaw

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Do you have any third-party RAM?

    Go to your Apple menu, hold down the Alt/Option key and choose "System Profiler..." Click "Memory". See if your memory reports as OK. If it reports errors, there's your problem.

    If not, go to Applications > Utilities, and run the Console.app. There will be some stuff in there about what caused the kernel panic.
     
  3. miguellovesjesu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    all ram displays ok, and im looking through that console app...is there a certain name when the computer restarts?
     
  4. Petrofsky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #4
    I have been having this same exact problem lately.
     
  5. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
    That's called a kernel panic. Quickest way to determine whether its hardware/software related is to take a look at the latest entries in the system.log accessible from the Console application, or reinstalling the OS and re-running updates. If it still persists after the archive and install its probably hardware related.
     
  6. miguellovesjesu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    just happened again like a couple min ago and now its really starting to irritate me, i was working on a video project! heres a shot at the logs. it panicked at about 09:44

    [​IMG]

    can anyone tell whats wrong?
     
  7. msevild macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Schaumburg
    #7
    In the console program please paste the results that are located under /Library/Logs -> then under PanicReporter. If you could paste one or two of the entire entries. That would potentially help out better than the system.log files.
     

Share This Page