New Mac Guy, wireless network malfunctions

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jb102082, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. jb102082 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    #1
    Just bought an imac sunday. set it up, it was a breeze. it recognized my wireless network no problem.

    ate dinner, woke the mac back up and it was not connected to the network. it would not even recognize the network or any network.

    decided to restart the imac and it worked fine. got back on the next day and it same thing, i had to restart it.

    any suggestions? i have never been a computer guy and the macs are new to me.

    ps: i do have an iphone and my old laptop that will recognize my network when the imac does not.

    thanks
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    A couple of questions. What router are you using? Does it have the most recent firmware? What other devices are connected to the router (via wifi) and when this happens are they still connected? Did you set up your wifi network on your mac or did it just connect? Have you installed all software updates on your mac?

    My advice is ensure you're all updated on your mac, re-establish the connection as though it's brand new, and see what happens. However, before you do all of this is make sure your router is up to date, be certain that you're not required to actually give the router your MAC (not computer) address, reset both your router and DSL/Cable modem, THEN re-establish that network connection, reboot your Mac and see what happens.
     
  3. jb102082 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    #3
    i did not install the router software on the computer. that would probably be wise :)

    i have a ps3, iphone and a rarely used laptop now.

    i havent reset anything, like i said...not a computer guy here.

    thanks
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    No no, don't install router software on your Mac! Whatever you do, let's go through this without that. In my experience all that ******** software is good for windows but not for Macs.

    Tell me what router you have.
     

Share This Page