New Mac - how shall I install it?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by abjork, Mar 13, 2008.

1. abjork macrumors newbie

Hi All Mac friends,

I'm a new Mac user and have just got my first Mac computer. It's a Macbook Pro. As I'm totally new to Mac and OSX I would appreciate a bit help to get started. In the past when I have got a new PC I knew how I wanted to setup Windows and which settings to use.

Now when I got my Mac I have no clue how to optimize the installation to remove all the extra programs, drivers and languages that are installed in the factory. If I have understood everything correctly my Mac will be ready for use when it arrives.

What do you recommend me to do before I start to use the computer, installing my own apps, and learn how all the apps and settings work? How do you configure your new Mac when it arrives from Apple?

Also other hints and tips for a new Mac user are welcome!!

Thanks!

2. mackindergarten macrumors 6502

Hi,

first of all, congrats on your new Mac!

Great news for you: Macs don't come preloaded with a pile of crap (shareware, nagware, etc.). No need to re-install anything. Just roll with the factory installation of Mac OS X.

The are programs, however, which allow you to strip the language files from an application. Such programs are Trimmit or XSlimmer.

Feel free to ask any question on Mac OS X or request a post over at Mac Kindergarten.

Hope this was helpful.

/Rupert

3. abjork thread starter macrumors newbie

This is good news. Nice to know that the factory installation is clean from unnecessary programs.

In the beginning I believe I will try to avoid this kind of programs as I don't know how OSX works and how to remove the programs in the future without leaving a lot of unnecessary files on the computer. Is there some other way to remove the languages that I don't want? Is there some other stuff that I need to know about the installation?