New Mac Migration

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mizxco, Sep 24, 2015.

  1. mizxco macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #1
    Am expecting a new iMac!!

    If my existing computer is running 10.11, the safest way to start a migration is to fresh install 10.11 on the new Mac too right?

    Apple only suggests using Target Disk Mode while using FireWire, is using Thunderbolt + Target Disk Mode still the way to go?

    Or booting up both and running Migration Assistant on them be better? Speed-wise.
     
  2. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #2
    If your new iMac comes with Yosemite installed, all you need to do is download El Capitan (10.11) when it's released and install it as an update.

    The best method of migration is to clone your old computer's main system drive using Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper! to a sufficiently sized external hard drive, then connect this external hard drive to the new iMac when Setup Assistant begins on your new iMac (one of the first things it will do when you boot it for the first time).

    If you can't do the above, then you could connect a cat6 cable between the Macs (assuming they both have ethernet ports) and use Setup Assistant...
     
  3. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #3
    You can also remove the hard drive from the old Mac, place it in a SATA to USB adapter (Or PCMCIA to USB adaptor if your mac is really old). Then connect via USB to the new Mac and use the Setup Assistant as mentioned in the other post.

    There are other options for adaptors to suit your needs such as a SATA to Firewire adaptor, or a Sata to Thunderbolt adaptor.
     
  4. mizxco thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #4
    Actually just transferring from a 2012 iMac to the retina 5K.
    I think Thunderbolt would be the fastest hassle-free interface.

    Question is:
    Should I do it with both systems powered on,
    or put my old Mac in Target Disk Mode and run Migration Assistant from the new one.

    Before doing so, I should at least have 10.11 installed on the new Mac yeah?
     
  5. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #5
    Yeah, put the old Mac into TDM - https://support.apple.com/kb/PH13842?locale=en_US

    Yes, because ElCap's mail.app for a start uses a different mailbox format.
     
  6. mizxco thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #6
  7. matreya, Sep 24, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2015

    matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #7
    There's a section 45% down the page headed "
    Migrate using a Thunderbolt or FireWire cable"
    looks like you don't need to put it into TDM when using Thunderbolt,
     
  8. mizxco thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #8
    Yep, my link goes exactly to that section https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204350#fwtb

    No mention of Thunderbolt :(
     
  9. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #9
    Which contradicts the support note I pasted a link to :/ I guess you can try it without putting the Mac into TDM and see if Setup Assistant sees your old Mac when the two computers are connected via Thunderbolt
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    yes, exactly.
    Migration assistant will find the other Mac on thunderbolt - no need to reboot that other Mac, as you would with Firewire.
     
  11. mizxco thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #11
    It will, as it does with Ethernet/FireWire/WiFi, you just need to launch Migration Assistant on both Macs.
    I'm just wondering anyone with past experience will know which is faster.

    A transfer in TDM should theoretically be faster right?
     
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    If both Macs have TB and you have the cable, a TB to TB connection over TDM is the easiest and fastest method and is supported by Apple. I have used this method a couple times and it works fine.

    You can use the TB connection as a networked connection to make this work also, but you need to fuss around making the connection take priority over the existing wifi connection. It is just easier to do TB over TDM.
     
  13. mizxco thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #13
    Yeah I'll take the TDM route then, it would 'seem' faster with no resource used by the local OS.

    And it's not like I can use either Mac during the migration anyway.

    Just need to figure out a way to get El Capitan clean installed on the new Mac.
     
  14. mizxco thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #14
    Actually, should be fairly easy. Download 10.11 GM Candidate from MAS. Put new Mac in TDM, erase it in Disk Utilty? Select that drive as target volume in OS X installer and done!
     
  15. lunaoso macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #15
    You could also make an el capitan flash drive, boot from that on the new Mac and then use its disk utility, wipe the drive and then install el cap from the flash drive. There's not really any advantage to do it this way, just another option.
     

Share This Page