New Mac Mini, Dual Display Support?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by nerdish, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. nerdish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #1
    Does anyone know if if will support Dual Displays simultaneously?
     
  2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #2
    Apple.com says yes!
     
  3. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #3
    Yes...

    The original rumor and the whole intent (one of the many features people requested)...
     
  4. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #4
    I don't think any of the "rumours" are ever rumours any more.
     
  5. al82 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #5
    Thanks guys this is excellent news, i didnt think it would.

    Anyone know if it is possible to have a second display for the imac??
     
  6. OneMike macrumors 601

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #6
    cool that was my only question I didn't see yet on site but I see it now. Already have a mini-dvi to vga connector. Just need a Mini DisplayPort to VGA and will be set.

    wonder when stores will get
     
  7. Lesser Evets macrumors 68040

    Lesser Evets

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    #7
    Yep. It's the best thing about the new mini.
    I'm still peeved they don;t have 3.5" drives.
     
  8. Shayne macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Since it looks like it supports the duel link system it would be reasonable to assume you could run 2x 24" 1920x1200 off that little thing? *looks for credit card*
     
  9. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #9
    Just to clairify... that means you can use BOTH the mini display port and the Mini DVD simultaneously, right? Or do you need an additional adapter?

    Also will I run into an HDCP issue if I use a mini-DVI to HDMI adapter? My AV receiver is HDCP compliant, but I though I read somewhere that DVI will not pass the HDCP signal along. Anyone have the real scoop?
     
  10. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    While Apple says you can hook up 2 monitors, it never specifically states that you can run both simultaneously or in extended desktop mode. And there is no new user manual on the site yet that I could find.
     
  11. Superman07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #11
    From Apple's site:

     
  12. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #12
    Also from Apple's site:

    That's the best thing about the new Mac mini. Dual display support, including one 30".
     
  13. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    That's been possible for quite some time.
     
  14. Neutral Gamer macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #14
    So wait, does that mean you can have a 30" ACD AS WELL AS a 24" monitor connected to the new Mac Mini at the same time?
     
  15. penguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #15
    anyone with any idea how the base model with 128 mb on the Nvidia will compare to the loaded model using 256 mb? I haven't seen any of the Macbooks use only 128. What will be affected? Rendering speed? Is it worth the cost?

    I can add 4 gb RAM and a 320 gb 7200 rpm drive to the base and still be $50 under the high end model. Thoughts? the base is 5400 rpm
     
  16. TechViking macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #16
    Not the 24 one as that requires the minidisplay port, and the 30 incher only works thru the minidisplay port with the minidisplay port adapter. ( Dont forget to add the extra $99 to the price for that. )

    But perhaps both a 23 inch 1920x1200 and a 30 inch 2560x1600 at the same time? That is the setup that I have.
     
  17. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #17
    I'm 99% that the 128MB graphics memory is only because of the limited 1GB system RAM. (Read the fine print at Apple here.)

    According to Apple: Memory available to Mac OS X may vary depending on graphics needs. Minimum graphics memory usage is 128MB for 1GB configuration and 256MB for 2GB configuration.

    It reads to me that if you upgrade the RAM to at least 2 GB, you'll have 256MB of graphics memory. Sounds about right - PC's with integrated graphics have done this for years.
     
  18. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #18

    Interesting. I'm surprised Apple didn't cripple the graphics on the low end machine.
     
  19. Neutral Gamer macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #19
    Sorry I meant to say a "general" 24" monitor with 1920x1200 diplay (or any monitor with that resolution actually) rather than the latest Apple LED one. :p

    That would be awesome! You've added a question mark in your response though, can anyone confirm if that setup is actually possible? Also how would the Mac Mini cope, performance wise, with 2x23" or 23" + 30" monitor combinations?

    Cheers. :)
     
  20. penguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #20
    So am I.

    Thanks JS1. I was half expecting a more crippled base model. As it is, I'm disappointed they didn't include the 2.26 processor in the 'high end' model. Another $150 is a bit much to me... :(
     
  21. penguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #21
    Thanks again. That being said, if you are willing to open the Mini (as I did with my PPC version, you can have a higher speed drive and twice the memory for $50 less! :eek:
     
  22. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #22
    It certainly would have made the high end model more desirable.
     
  23. Superman07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #23

    Agreed.

    I wonder if the new model is easier to open.

    If you can increase the VRAM by upgrading the ram it seems like the "low" model is the easy choice.

    However, for simplicity I may just go with the "high" version. I'm curious how easy the processor is to upgrade. Heat issues aside can any processors higher than 2.66 fit the socket?
     

Share This Page