New Mac mini HDMI port fixing underscan/overscan issues?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by amphibious, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. amphibious macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    #1
    I currently have a Mac mini (two generations old) hooked up to my 1080p HDTV. I tried battling the underscan/overscan issue that some people experience and never found a solution that worked.

    I know this is a little early to be asking the question, but I'm wondering if anyone had underscan/overscan issues that were fixed by the new mini with its HDMI port?
     
  2. thefaceless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #2
    This cnet review mentions some kind of option to deal with overscan/underscan with the new HDMI port, is that what you mean? Don't know if it's a new feature or not.
     
  3. amphibious thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    #3
    I hadn't seen any mention of a feature like that, but it appears to at least address the problem. I'm not sure that a slider is the best solution, as I have the display set to output 1920x1080 right now and I still have a black border about 1" on either side and .5" on the top and bottom. HD stuff looks pretty crappy when it's not matching up pixel for pixel.

    I suppose I'll go try it and return it if it doesn't work.

    Thanks.
     
  4. jwhazel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    #4
    I'm interested in this too. But I'm slightly confused by your post amphibious... if the mini is set to 1920x1080 and your tv is 1920x1080, why would there be a bar around the edges? Are you sure your tv isn't doing the underscanning?
     
  5. Sensamic macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #5
    The new mini has an option for that on displays in preferences. Look it.
     
  6. amphibious thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    #6
    The TV displays a full screen image while the computer is booting, until it gets to the login screen. Indicates to me that some display setting is changing when it gets to the login.

    I played around with DisplayConfigX and went through a ton of walkthroughs but could never get it to work even close to correctly.

    Just because the option is there doesn't mean it's necessarily going to fix the problem, unfortunately. I'd really like to find somebody that previously had this problem, and solved it via the new HDMI option and additional software settings.
     
  7. Sirolway macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Agree. I'd like to see this too. My 2008 mini shows a black border & while I'm not about to replace it, it would be very good to know that the problem is actually solved..
     
  8. OmegaRed1723 macrumors 6502

    OmegaRed1723

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Waste
    #8
    I connected my 2010 Mini to a 42" LCD. There was some overscan initially, so I couldn't see the outer edges of the screen (menu bar, bottom half of dock, etc.). The underscan slider in the Display settings took care of this issue with no problems. It's a nice little tool which lets you avoid the hassle of using DisplayConfigX or SwitchResX.
     
  9. amphibious thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    #9
    And do you find that the slider is accurate enough that it's not mapping like 1.1 or .9 pixels per pixel on screen? I know it's never going to be perfect, but I'd really like a bluray rip at 1080p to look the same as if it were playing off a bluray disc.
     
  10. jwhazel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    #10
    I have an 09 mini connected via DVI outputing 1200P and theres no borders around my monitor. If the mini natively did under/overscan through the output wouldn't everyone with a computer monitor see borders/non 1.1 mapping? I bring this up because I know that my 58" panasonic will "zoom" the image by default (something like 20px on each side) to compensate for broadcast data thats around the edges. You have to delve deep into the menus to adjust it or shut if off all together.

    But if the mini really does try to overscan the display through HDMI, this will throw a wrench in my spokes.
     
  11. OmegaRed1723 macrumors 6502

    OmegaRed1723

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Waste
    #11
    I found the slider to be quite precise. If you fidget with it, I believe you can get a 1:1 pixel ratio, though I'm no measurementician. ;)
     
  12. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #12
    This feature matters to me. My television can't handle it, in firmware.

    Thanks to the OP.
     
  13. Sensamic macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #13
    Any pictures to see how good this feature works on the new mini?
     
  14. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #14
    The CNET review shows it well.

    I'll try to find it.
     
  15. AtTheAsylum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #16
    Hi,

    Registered just for this question :)

    Is there any reason this wouldn't work on the previous generation Mini when using a Mini Display to HDMI adaptor? It has the checkbox for overscan after all...

    Thanks :)

    Kev.
     
  16. nathanh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #17
    Just used the feature. There's an "Underscan" slider in the Displays setting. It worked perfectly to get everything lined up with my LCD panel.
     
  17. knujon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #18
    Amphibious -- did you buy the new Mac Mini, and if so was the over/underscan issue fixed? I'm in the exact same situation but I'm hesitant to buy it if this isn't fixed...
     
  18. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #19
    I'm a novice at all this stuff, but connected my 2010 Mini to my Pioneer 60" via HDMI and used the display setting slider to get it larger. But on my TV which using right now to send this, cuts the L&R edges by about 4" and the top/bottom edges by about 2".

    Are you saying there is a another fix for this?
     
  19. SmilesLots macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #20
    I used that option on my 2010 Mini and it works very well. I have an eyeTV connected and the HD channels look very good. JME (just my experience)
     
  20. smithrh macrumors 68020

    smithrh

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #21
    So I'm assuming this is for people that can't set their HDTVs to "pixel-by-pixel" displays?

    I too wrestled with this for a while on my Mac Mini and also my MBP but the setting to be changed is on the set, not the computer (again, this is in my case).

    Just checking here...
     

Share This Page