new Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Pitsy, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. Pitsy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #1
    If I buy a new onto tomorrow in New York, and want to use it in the UAE (240v) will the power supply be OK.

    I can find nothing on this one, I knwo the Laptops are atu-switching but not sure on the desktops.

    Any advice please.

    A freind is flying there tomorrow and bringing me my new mouse and Mini :)

    Pitsy
     
  2. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    You will need to buy a replacement power supply. The US model accepts 110V only. However, should be a fairly cheap part.
     
  3. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #3
    This is correct.
     
  4. Pitsy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #4
    It will be safe to use though? I will not need a step down converter?

    The UK model lists a 110v power lead as well, the same as the US one?

    Pitsy
     
  5. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    UK Mac Minis have a 240V/110V power lead, so I'd assume that is a typo on Apple's site. If you try putting 240V into something that takes 110V, you'll get a nasty suprise.
     
  6. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #7
    If you buy a UK model, you will be able to use it in the US no problem because it has a 100-240v power supply.

    If you buy a US model and try to use it in the UK (or any other country that uses 240v power) with the power supply it comes with, it will fry.
     
  7. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    You're getting confused between 110W (Watts) and 110V (Volts). All Minis have a 110W supply, but the voltage varies.
     
  8. Pitsy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #9
    So the Mac Mini I have now (Intel version) I cna use the Power Supply from that one.

    My son will have to buy a new PSU for the old Mac Mini?

    Pitsy
     
  9. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #10
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Pitsy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #11
    Love that picture....

    Whats wrong with making my son uy a new PSU, I am giving him my old Mini!!!

    :D
     
  11. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #12
    So you currently have a Mac mini (non-US model) with a switching power supply, and you want to take that power supply out, put it in the new mini, and then have your son buy a new power supply to put in the old mini?

    That's if the mini you have now has a switching power supply, which I am inferring but you haven't actually said. Wouldn't it be easier to just have your son give you the money and only switch the power supply in one of the computers? Or better yet, wait and get a Mac mini from a country that sells minis with switching power supplies, so you don't need to buy any parts separately at all?
     
  12. Pitsy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #13
    I have a UK Mac Mini, which has a 240v supply.

    A friend is offering to get me a new model tomorrow from New York. However the US power rating is only 110v.

    The lead is external, I am assuming (hoping) that I can use the UK power supply and cord on the US model.

    If this is not the case (as the documentation is a lttle slim on this) I will indeed hold off.

    I live in Abu Dhabi and we are still waiting for the iPhone 3gs to officially released so I am not holding my breathe on the new Mini being here before Xmas!!!!

    Thanks for the quick replies

    Pitsy
    :D
     
  13. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK

Share This Page