Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

al3000

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 16, 2005
England
Hi all,

I just wondered, when Mac OSX Leopard (is that right), is released...will it be compatible with only the Intel macs? Sorry if this is a stupid question...I'm a newbie :D

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
Nope, not getting rid of too many PPC machines.

But it will get rid of some legacy machines -- like anything without a built-in DVD drive.

Don't expect Apple to make any CD-ROM versions available with this version.

al3000

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 16, 2005
England
Thanks, I didn't want to purchase a powerbook this year, then have next years OS not work with it!

Nermal

Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
The PowerPC came out in 1994 (or was it 93?), and all the OS releases up to 1998 still supported the 68040. So I think the PowerPC is safe for a while :)

SpaceMagic

macrumors 68000
Oct 26, 2003
Cardiff, Wales
As Nermal says, Apple supported 68k for 5 years after it was phased out of the hardware line up. OS 9 is still supported in the way of Classic and its user base still builds apps for it (although I can't fatham why :p). PPC will definitely be supported by leopard and I'm sure the next version will run on PPC too. The version after that (10.7?) I doubt will.. but then we're looking at 2010/11.

dmw007

macrumors G4
May 26, 2005
Working for MI-6
SpaceMagic said:
As Nermal says, Apple supported 68k for 5 years after it was phased out of the hardware line up. OS 9 is still supported in the way of Classic and its user base still builds apps for it (although I can't fatham why :p). PPC will definitely be supported by leopard and I'm sure the next version will run on PPC too. The version after that (10.7?) I doubt will.. but then we're looking at 2010/11.

A good perspective SpaceMagic. PowerPC equipped Macs will be alive and kickin' for years to come! :D

ajampam