New Mac Pro 4k Display..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by postalp, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. postalp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    #1
    So where are you supposed to get a 4k display for this? Is apple going to make one to bundle with the new mac pro?
     
  2. intz2nu macrumors 6502

    intz2nu

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #2
    This is one huge factor that may lure me away from a high spec 27' iMac is if I was to see Apple make a nice beautifull display for their new turbine jet engine of a computer. But other than their lousy iMac LG panels and no news or mention of a newly designed display for the Mac Pro I'm still holding out a bit on either purchases.
     
  3. postalp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    #3
    Me too. I'd pay to get both, but one without the other seems half-ass*d. The only one I found is Asus that makes one for 3,500, monitor only. Nec doesn't even make one. But I'm sure apple could make an awesome 4k monitor if they tried.
     
  4. rogerdee123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #4
    On the Apple Insider webpage the show the new MP running Final Cut Pro on a Sharp 4k display. It looks like a 27" or 30".
     
  5. Zellio macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #5
    There's a 39" Sekei that keeps appearing on slick deals for $600... It's kinda crap, but people have over clocked it and it runs 4k at 30hz
     
  6. rpmucha23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    #6
    I have that 39" Seiki, @ 4K the input lag is severe. change resolution to 1080p and the lag goes away, then that defeats the purpose of the monitor.

    tried it on my rMBP (650M), and iMac (6870), and PC (580SLI), all lag @ 4K
     
  7. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #7
    The reason why the 4K display is laggy on those "systems" is there only pushing 2560*1600 max res.

    4K is 3840*2160 ... :eek:


    Haswell Chip Macs will push 4K resolution screen
     
  8. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    I want to know what monitor he's using! Future TBD?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    I'm pretty that's the Asus display.
     
  10. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    Fair enough looks like we might never see one then, surely they would use it in the promotional material, oh well.
     
  11. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #12
    After the 4K panel prices stabilize and sizes appropriate for an an iMac ( 27 or 21.5" ) appear Apple probably will jump in. If Apple does a TV ( that too).

    Eventually those will probably arrive. Just not in 2013 or early 2014.

    Over the next year or two 4K monitor prices are probably going to radically change/shift. After that shake out is when Apple can step in and establish a stable price to stick to and will have volume if coupled to the iMac .
     
  12. ma2ha3 macrumors regular

    ma2ha3

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #13
    APPLE!
    where is the 4k monitor?

    I am so disappointed, there was no news at all about new monitor from apple. I half expected them to do so.
     
  13. Decked macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #14
    I think they'll announce the monitor as late as possible to prevent imac sales dropping as I'm sure they'll stick a 4K screen in the imac at the same time.
     
  14. rpmucha23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    #15
    Well, i get to test your theory on that in 3 UPS days, got a pair of R9 290X's on the way in to replace the GTX580SLIs
     
  15. Lesser Evets macrumors 68040

    Lesser Evets

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    #16
    I was wondering about that thing… and now I know. Figured it was inexpensive for a good reason.
     
  16. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #17
  17. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #18
    I want to hear about your results. Which Mac do you have? I'm assuming if you have a rMBP you'd have the 15" with discreet graphics. Not sure that the iGPU in the 13" could smoothly drive a 4K display.
     
  18. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #19

    Well a quick google for me on the 290x cards = result in short- yes those cards will push 4K display... :eek:
     
  19. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #20
    ..Maybe a variant of the Sharp PN-K321, but with TB 2 ports...
     
  20. rpmucha23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    #21
    The rMBP is the 15" with the nvidia 650m gpu.

    The only machine I have that had trouble connecting to the Seiki was my mbAir (Intel HD3000 iGPU)

    Lag is livable when I'm doing text based stuff like xCode or VS2012.

    Really wanted to be able to play FFXIV in "big boy" resolution.

    ----------

    It's an awesome tv when used for that purpose, if people are interested I can make a video of the lag if people are on the fence about trying it as a monitor. I gave it a shot because I had 400 dollars in reward points to burn, lol.
     
  21. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #22
    i would love the sharp 4k monitor ... so expensive though and forget playing a game at that resolution with the cards in the nMP.. I was thinking of splurging on the d700s .. but i think someone posted they will be 3499 each lol
     
  22. puckhead193, Oct 24, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013

    puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #23
    I was disappointed about not having a 4k monitor from apple announced. But then I thought, I'm not editing 4k video (yet) the only thing that would be required is a slimmer bezel and casing and upgrade the USB to 3 and TB 2...
    Until then, anyone have monitor suggestions?
     
  23. thegreatdivorce macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Location:
    Upper Left USA
    #24
    Your only gaming option at 4K is PC land. :) Unless you want to hack a couple Titans or a 290x into your Mac Pro somehow.
     
  24. rpmucha23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    #25
    290X's will be here on Monday, but with the gtx580sli i disabled VSYNC in the nvidia control panel, and in windows desktop, i disabled the VSYNC in AERO with the following code at the command prompt with elevated permissions.

    Code:
    sc stop uxsms
    and now its fairly responsive (as much as a lcd tv with no game mode preset), very very usable now.

    also after the upgrade to 10.9, the lag has improved while connected to my iMac (HD 6970M)

    much much happier with the monitor now. only thing to complain about is the 30hz refresh. gonna have to suck it up until ASUS brings out their 60hz / 39" version.
     

Share This Page