New Mac Pro 7.1 stand alone display compatibility with older MP's

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AlexMaximus, Jan 13, 2018.

?

Will the new Apple stand alone Display for MP 7.1 work on older systems

Poll closed Feb 12, 2018.
  1. Yes! Apple wants to sell as many as possible. It will work at least on 6.1 if not on 5.1 as well.

    1 vote(s)
    14.3%
  2. No! Apple wants to push new sales. The new display will work with the 7.1 only!

    6 vote(s)
    85.7%
  1. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502a

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #1
    Hello folks,

    I was wondering about the upcoming new stand alone display that will come out with the new Mac Pro 7.1 - I would like to hear your opinion about it.

    - Will the upcoming stand alone Apple Display be compatible with the current Mac Pro 6.1 ?

    - If that would be the case, would it be also (automatically) be compatible with the good old cmp 5.1 ?

    Thunderbolt aside, I really don't see a big difference between the 5.1 and the 6.1. The current 6.1 both run Apple's Cinema Display (with or without) Thunderbolt. So I would assume the new Display for the 7.1 should work on the current 6.1 and therefor also run on the 5.1.

    Whats your opinion? How would you feel as a Mac Pro 6.1 owner if the new screen doesn't work on your current machine, that according to Apple's homepage still sells in 2018?

    :)
     
  2. Naimfan macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
  3. StuAff macrumors regular

    StuAff

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #3
    It'll have something at least some older Macs can use. No way is Apple going to sell a new standalone display exclusively for owners of new Macs.
     
  4. Dr. Stealth macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #4
    Apple did it before with the Thunderbolt Display. Only worked on new Macs. No way to attach it to a cMP.
     
  5. StuAff macrumors regular

    StuAff

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #5
    Good point, I forgot that one! But my feeling is it'll be TB3, with perhaps- just maybe- DP as an alternative option. And the Thunderbolt display did/does at least work with every TB Mac since.
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    It will likely be Thunderbolt 3 and 5k. So no.

    Unless they let it run at 4k like the LG Ultrafine 5k.

    Won't be exclusive to the new Mac Pro. Plenty of other Thunderbolt 3 Macs out there. It just won't work on older Mac Pros.
     
  7. mattspace macrumors 6502a

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    as long as we're just throwing wild guesses at the wall...

    32" 8k dual TB3 connection, that'll be bundled into a single cable (which will be the sole input connection) which is built into the display, and just splits into two plugs at the computer end. The justification for why using up two ports is OK, is that the display will have downstream ports on it for all the peripherals you would have plugged into those ports anyway.
     

Share This Page