New Mac Pro - additional OEM / factory Power cord?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by michael_aos, Feb 14, 2014.

  1. michael_aos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #1
    Is the new Mac Pro power cord available for purchase anywhere?

    I might want to move it between two locations and it would be nice to not have to mess with routing a single cable through two different desks.

    Obviously it's not CRITICAL that it be an OEM power cable, but I was thinking if I have to buy one anyway I might as well get the factory one.
    --
     
  2. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #2
    I would absolutely make sure it is an OEM cable, seems careless to risk a 3-5k machine by trying to save maybe $20 on a power cord. Call Apple, see if they will sell/send you another one.
     
  3. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #3
    You'll have to contact an Apple repair shop to order one, and it's going to cost a fortune, when you are able to get it.
    There is no practical reason to get one over a generic cable.
     
  4. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #4
    Um, just use a standard NEMA 5-15P to IEC C13 cable.

    Your only other option is to pay $$ (probably around $40-$80) for an Apple OEM part, assuming you can even get those for the nMP right now. The only difference is the bezel around the plug, but the plug itself is identical to a standard IEC C13 cable. It's been that way since the Quad G5 (which used an IEC C19 connector instead).

    -SC
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    That's just a power cord.
    There's no valid reason to get the "real" power cord.
    Get the length that you prefer, even choose right angle connectors (might be a better "drape" on the round case?): http://www.monoprice.com/Search?pg_no=1&keyword=iec 13
    And, mostly less than $2
     
  6. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #6
    Any power cord would be fine, tested mine with some extra power cord laying around at my workplace.
     
  7. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
    As long as the fuse is the correct rating, this is one instance where I'd say you could go with a decent third party cable...choose one of the length you need check the fuse and your good to go.
     
  8. HooRide macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Monterey, CA
    #8
    There are no fuses in the power cord.

    Beyond aesthetics, there is no difference between a $2 power cord from Monoprice and the ones from the Apple factory.
     
  9. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #9
    In that case just buy one....there isn't anything special about a standard power cord.
     
  10. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #10
    Monoprice cables are horrible quality. You get precisely what you pay for.

    -SC
     
  11. BlueWaterVA macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Location:
    SouthWest Virginia
    #11
    I have the nMP and I wouldn't hesitate to use a non-OEM power cable.
     
  12. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
  13. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #13
  14. rw3 macrumors 6502a

    rw3

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #14
    You need Part #923-0535. I will check price tomorrow from an Apple Store.
     
  15. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #15
  16. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #16
    I am still using the rainbow colored cable from an old G5 or was it a G4? Anyway, I use it because it's unique and different from any other power cable out there, and with the number of cables I have, this one stands out when plugged into my UPS and makes it very easy to identify.

    However, a good power cable is a good power cable, doesn't matter who manufacturers it. And, I have a closet full of 'em.
    Lou
     
  17. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #17
    Hmmm. "quality" and "ITunes" in the same sentence, without "poor" preceding "quality".

    Oh! You said "not!". Never mind.
     
  18. vader0401 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
  19. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #19
    Why is the cable so huge? :eek:
     
  20. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #20
    I was just having a laugh when I posted the russ andrews link and didn't think someone would really put an audiophile grade IEC on their can lol. I only went as far as a bit of silver solder on the MK plugs for my Naim kit and never a computer :D
     
  21. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #21
    Aah, should have known it's an audiophile cable, that explains the silver.
     
  22. rw3 macrumors 6502a

    rw3

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #22
    $20.00 for an OEM Apple Cable.
     
  23. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #23
    I have a feeling if you ordered just the power cord, the factory might go haywire. :eek: :p
     
  24. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #24
    We can't handle any more orders! :goes into thermonuclear mode: :p
     
  25. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #25
    OMG... You can actually spend $3k GBP on a power cable!!! :eek:

    What had me spitting on my monitor with laughter where the wood bobbles on each end. Bhahahaha!!! :D Crazy.
     

Share This Page