New Mac Pro all Options Maxed

costinsonny

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2014
6
0
Finally got my order for the new Mac Pro. Was about 1.5 months from order to delivery.

got the 12 core option with 64 gb of ram and 2 Firepro D700's

created a little video of the arrivals and just though i'd share it!


had a little issue though on startup. For some reason it's asking to install Nvidia cuda driver updates. Not sure why as the graphics cards are ATI.

Anyone had any of the same issues?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

IlikeMacsSoMuch

macrumors 6502
Dec 30, 2009
346
2
Blainville, Province of Quebec
Finally got my order for the new Mac Pro. Was about 1.5 months from order to delivery.

got the 12 core option with 64 gb of ram and 2 Firepro D700's

created a little video of the arrivals and just though i'd share it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDrjwjWsWxA

had a little issue though on startup. For some reason it's asking to install Nvidia cuda driver updates. Not sure why as the graphics cards are ATI.

Anyone had any of the same issues?
Oh man! I'm jealous! Enjoy!
 

costinsonny

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2014
6
0
umm yeh not sure about the hipster comment.

have definitely been putting the mac pro through its paces the past couple of days.

I believe i've found the reason that the cuda update came through. I've narrowed it down to the installation of Davinci resolve and believe it may have added that to the system preferences on the mac.

"cisco_kid" would be insane to see all 20 side by side. Are you guys clustering them or using as separate work/edit stations. and if clustering have you guys found a way to mount them on a rack yet?
 

rols

macrumors 6502a
Jan 18, 2008
509
209
Cool video, and props for having hands so clean you didn't fingerprint the new baby.

That thing is smaller than I thought, or you are giant people.
 

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
2,080
249
had a little issue though on startup. For some reason it's asking to install Nvidia cuda driver updates. Not sure why as the graphics cards are ATI.

Anyone had any of the same issues?
I'm guessing some software you used must prefer CUDA, Resolve for example will automatically install CUDA.

You can install the latest CUDA driver for mac here
 

Riwam

macrumors 65816
Jan 7, 2014
1,011
207
Basel, Switzerland
Congratulations!

Finally got my order for the new Mac Pro. Was about 1.5 months from order to delivery.

got the 12 core option with 64 gb of ram and 2 Firepro D700's

created a little video of the arrivals and just though i'd share it!

YouTube: video

had a little issue though on startup. For some reason it's asking to install Nvidia cuda driver updates. Not sure why as the graphics cards are ATI.

Anyone had any of the same issues?
............
I join the congratulating mob!
Enjoy it!:p
 

costinsonny

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2014
6
0
First solution probably coming in June ($1,499): Sonnet nMP Rack Mount (4U).
Thanks for the heads up, will keep an eye out for it!


Awesome video! What distortion / glitch plugin(s) do you use?
have a bunch of pixel films plugins and just been playing around with them.

Actually only used 2 plugins through the video and keyframes a lot of the preferences. Very easy to manipulate to your own liking!

am working on posting up some benchmarks now. From what i've experienced so far, its insanely fast!!!

will post results as soon as i've got them.
 

nol2001

macrumors member
Aug 15, 2013
90
78
UK
I enjoyed that. It makes perfect sense the 'real pros' using nMP can make a great quality video!
 

Riwam

macrumors 65816
Jan 7, 2014
1,011
207
Basel, Switzerland
The now customary question: is your nMP a silent one?

Thanks for the heads up, will keep an eye out for it!




have a bunch of pixel films plugins and just been playing around with them.

Actually only used 2 plugins through the video and keyframes a lot of the preferences. Very easy to manipulate to your own liking!

am working on posting up some benchmarks now. From what i've experienced so far, its insanely fast!!!

will post results as soon as i've got them.
.............................

Sorry to ask this but is your nMP as silent and quiet as you expected, and Apple promissed?
Thanks for your answer? :)
 

costinsonny

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2014
6
0
Sorry to ask this but is your nMP as silent and quiet as you expected, and Apple promissed?
Thanks for your answer?
It's not completely silent but definitely not anything that will distract as well. The office/edit room it has been placed in makes it almost impossible to hear with all the other things going on in the office. If you were in room with no other people and equipment then you will definitely here it, but I personally don't think it would distract.

Have added quick screenshots of geek bench 3 scores
Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 9.12.54 am.png
Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 9.16.23 am.png
 

Tutor

macrumors 65816
It's not completely silent but definitely not anything that will distract as well. The office/edit room it has been placed in makes it almost impossible to hear with all the other things going on in the office. If you were in room with no other people and equipment then you will definitely here it, but I personally don't think it would distract.

Have added quick screenshots of geek bench 3 scores
View attachment 467354
View attachment 467355
That's a pretty good 32-bit score. The average for that CPU in the nMP in 32-bit is 28,915 [ http://browser.primatelabs.com/mac-benchmarks ]. Meaning that some CPUs score lower than that number and other lucky dogs like you have a CPU with greater performance potential.
 

mojolicious

macrumors 68000
Mar 18, 2014
1,563
310
Sarf London
The inner Apple box with the carrying handle would be a fantastic form-factor; much more attractive/practical than the computer it contains.
 

Tutor

macrumors 65816
The inner Apple box with the carrying handle would be a fantastic form-factor; much more attractive/practical than the computer it contains.
You get an up and a high five. If there's true gold in the cylinder, the cylinder itself still could have been ultimately enclosed in a cubish exterior. But a cube brings back bad memories - at least to the veterans at Apple.
 
Last edited:

costinsonny

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2014
6
0
The inner Apple box with the carrying handle would be a fantastic form-factor; much more attractive/practical than the computer it contains.
funny you say that, as a lot of the admin staff at the studio who have never even seen images of the nMP commented on the form factor and how it should have a cube shape.