New Mac Pro Clock Speeds?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tony3d, Jun 7, 2013.

  1. tony3d macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #1
    Just wondering what the new Mac Pro clock speeds would be?
     
  2. clamnectar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #2
    3.14159
     
  3. handsome pete macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #3
    You could have been a little more accurate. Jeez.

    3.14159265359
     
  4. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #4
    Lets just get all the way there: C/d
     
  5. spunkgarLEWII macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    #5
    New Mac Pro speeds

    I would venture a guess around 3.45848574 to 3.9878767
     
  6. deconstruct60, Jun 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2013

    deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #6
    If they use the upcoming E5 Xeon 1600 and 2600 then the 1600 models will be similar to these.

    http://www.cpu-world.com/news_2013/...idge-E_extreme_CPUs_to_launch_in_Q3_2013.html

    So something like

    E5 1620 v2 3.7 GHz 4 cores ( up 0.1 GHz from v1 )
    E5 1650 v2 3.4 GHz 6 cores ( up 0.2 GHz from v1 )
    E5 1660 v2 3.6 GHz 6 cores ( up 0.1 GHz from v1 )


    Likewise on the 2600 side. Probably see mostly 0.1 bumps and some 0.2 bumps in clock on a few select much higher priced offerings. However, the focus likely to be on across the board jumps in core count. So instead of what would have been with v1

    E5 2620 2.0 GHz 6 cores
    E5 2640 2.5 GHz 6 cores
    E5 2665 2.4 GHz 8 cores

    The v2's will likely look like ( just smallest clock bump. Haven't been many leaks so far here. )

    E5 2620 v2 2.1 GHz 8 cores
    E5 2640 v2 2.6 GHz 8 cores
    E5 2665 v2 2.5 GHz 10 cores

    Intel might push the 2620 in the same direction where the 1620 went and hold the core count constant juice the clock speed. So perhaps

    E5 2620 v2 2.6 GHz 6 cores

    However, given the reports of them pushing to add a 12 core to the 2600 line up I suspect they are still going to push/chase "core count war" with the 2600 offerings. ( AMD server offerings have already been on that focus. If Intel can largely match core count with better cores they will continue to dominate AMD. ) For workload consolidation (whether cluster collapse or multiple OS instances ) that makes sense. The 1600's are for the blocked by single threaded apps workload.



    Now if Mac Pro goes the Xeon E3 route then it is different. Those are already out

    The E3 v3 line up.

    http://ark.intel.com/products/series/75143

    Probably xxx5 variants since they have a iGPU and make rolling out Thunderbolt easier.

    I'd guess

    E3 1245 v3 3.4 GHz 4 cores
    E3 1275 v3 3.5 GHz 4 core
    E3 1285 v3 3.6 GHz 4 cores

    Starts where iMac tops out on BTO and goes up from there a bit.
     
  7. PortableLover macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    england
    #7
    Any chance that the MP will allow for the version 2 of the E5-2687W? Sorry if, stupid question :3
     
  8. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    We'll I could say that it is unlikely Apple would go back to selling dual CPU systems with really high TDP processors as they stopped doing that back with the 09 models. We've really no clue what size, cooling or components they will use though. If they offer a system using dual E5-2600 V2 Xeons then there should be no reason you couldn't upgrade it yourself.
     
  9. spunkgarLEWII macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    #9
    Hi, you wrote:

    "If they offer a system using dual E5-2600 V2 Xeons then there should be no reason you couldn't upgrade it yourself."

    Thats a BIG IF... considering Apple's direction is making Macs much harder to expand and that Apple does not want anyone to expand or upgrade, this might be the reality we will be faced with once we see what they bring about on Monday.

    If it does come true that the new Mac Pro is to be a hybrid of the mac mini or even iMac, I am out and will just keep what i have because i need multiple drive bays as i have lots of videos i do on a constant basis. Plus, i use my Mac Pro to host my files and printer for all my machines. Hard drive space internally with bays is ESSENTIAL for me and i hope the new machine will offer such expandability, but i fear given their direction for building these new machines with limited to no internal expansion, this may be the case.. In that case.. RIP Mac Pro(2006-2012).

    I hope to GOD I am wrong.





     
  10. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #10
    Well they aren't going to solder two E5-2600V2s to a board, so they have to be serviceable.
     
  11. spunkgarLEWII macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    #11
    Oh, in that case if Apple decides to keep the processors SOLDERED to the board, there is no way to upgrade them which will force us into buying logic boards with faster processors. I can see this is going to be a hassle. At least on my 6-core if I decided to get the w3690 before September, I can just drop that in.. but with the new Mac Pros or whatever machine its to be in order to go from one processor to another will most likely require a whole new logic board, as Apple soldered the processors on the board - ELIMINATING PROCESSOR UPGRADING fully.

    Again, I hope I am wrong.

     
  12. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #12
    Again, I'm saying there is no way Apple would do that. It makes no sense from a warranty/servicing perspective. They would have to throw away a CPU and logic board if one broke, or two CPUs if the logic board broke.
     

Share This Page