New Mac Pro freeze and crashing

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by voyager77, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. voyager77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #1
    I got a new Mac Pro two weeks ago, and it's been great, much faster than my macbook.

    However in those two weeks, i've had 4 freeze and crashes now, that's more than in years of using MacBooks.

    Symptoms are: the screen just freezes, nothing moves anymore, not even the mouse. The sounds hangs, and after a few seconds the mac shuts down and restarts.
    On two of these crashes, i saw a red light from the bottom of the tower.

    Anyone else experienced this?
    Does anyone know what the red light means?
    Any input to find the source of these crashes and what to do next is welcome.
     
  2. bxs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    Can you post the exact Mac model number ? For example, a "new Mac Pro" could be assumed to be a MacPro6,1. Also state it's configuration and what OS version you're running.
     
  3. voyager77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #3
    Specs:

    Mac Pro 6.1 (the round one)
    Quad core
    Dual D300
    12 Gb memory
    OSX 10.10.1
     
  4. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #4
    .............
    The right thing to do is to apply immediately to the Apple Service.
     
  5. MacProFCP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Sounds like faulty ram to me or a hard drive error. Did you install after market ram or after market hard drive?

    Run the hardware test. I'd put it on a loop at least overnight to do a thorough ram check. I've had faulty ram show up only after a 24 hour check.

    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202731
     
  6. bxs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #6
    This configuration seems to me to be a Stock configuration for a 4-core MP6,1.

    Did the MP6,1 come with 10.10.1 installed or did you upgrade it to 10.10.1 latest build ?

    What application is executing when the screen and/or system freezes ?

    Are you using a UPS system ?

    Is the electrical power delivered to the MP6,1 of good quality (i.e., no power surges or the like)

    What display(s) are you connecting to the MP6,1 ?

    What other hardware are you connecting to the MP6,1 such as disk drives, keyboard, mouse ?
     
  7. voyager77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #7
    If only it were that easy. Apple service is pretty much non existent here.
    Returning the mac to the store would mean being without for a few weeks and hope they find something (which is unlikely) and get a scratched semi new mac in return.
    I would also have to wipe the hard drive and install again on return.

    ----------

    The system is fresh from the box, nothing added or changed, so all is apple stuff.
    I'll try that test, thanks.

    ----------

    That is is, bog standard.

    It came installed with 10.10.1. Nothing upgraded except a few minor things.

    That i'm trying to find out. Each time it was a graphic intensive program, two times it was second life running.

    No UPS.

    Power has always been good here, never had any problems with it.

    Apple cinema display with a thunderbolt to DVI adapter.

    Small hard drive (Toshiba), apple wired keyboard and a razor mouse (wired)
     
  8. bxs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #8
    Is that a passive TB-to-DVI adapter ? If not you may want to use the powered adapter instead, such as Apple's Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter. What size is that ACD ? The 30" requires a fair amount of power.

    Ignoring the issue being hardware, I'd say its a problem with the Application and/or the manner you connect the ACD.
     
  9. voyager77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #9
    It's a passive TB to DVI. The ACD is a 20", so no need for dual link DVI. (New and more screens to be added soon.)
    I would tend to agree the problem is caused by an application, but even then, a crashing app is ok ish, but a whole system crash is not acceptable for a machine like this. I bought it to be used, not as an ornament.
     
  10. bxs, Jan 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2015

    bxs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #10
    If you can load/install 10.9 Mavericks try that to see if it's a Yosemite issue/compatibility.

    See http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Second-Life-Viewer/Mac-OS-X-Yosemite/td-p/2846128/page/3 as there's some evidence other Macs have issue same as you've described.

    I agree that an Application should not be able to cause a system crash.

    This https://secondlife.com/support/system-requirements/ indicates SL is compatible with 10.9 !

    I'm running SL on an iMac13,2 (27" late 2012, 1TB Fusion drive, 20GB RAM, Internet 50/10 Mbps) running 10.10.1 without issues.
     
  11. ilikewhey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    #11
    sounds like a corrupted OS. try to repair the disk or reformat it all together.

    and you said applecare is non existence where ur from? if this turns out to be a hardware issue, which at this point it could be, than i don't think there is much you can do on your end. you have to go find apple store or a reseller
     

Share This Page