New Mac Pro has hardware H.264 decoding? Can someone check?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by iBug2, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. iBug2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #1
    Can you guys run a 1080p quicktime trailer and look at CPU usage? I'm wondering if that was only a treat for MacBooks or every new Apple product will have it.
     
  2. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #2
    I'm running an '08 2.8x8 and just watched a 720P trailer of '9' and it barely tugged the CPU to 5%. H.264 is no strain on a MP.
     
  3. iBug2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #3
    I have 1080p trailers on 2.8x8 and they put up to 70% cpu load.

    So it is a strain on the MP. Ofc you can watch it without any issues, but hardware acceleration is always welcome.
     
  4. WonderSausage macrumors member

    WonderSausage

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #4
    You mean 70% of one core, not 70% CPU load :)

    And even that seems high.
     
  5. amoergosum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #5
    How does the new 8-core 2,26 Ghz Mac Pro perform when it comes to H.264 full HD video editing (in Final Cut Pro)?
     
  6. Nik macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Full HD requires a high memory bandwidth which the new MacPro can provide.
     
  7. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #7
    Why would you be editing in H.264?
     
  8. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #8
    So can the old one.
     
  9. amoergosum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #9

    >>> Canon 5D MKII
     
  10. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #10
    Weird.

    Anyway, it's unlikely to present a real-world problem as long as you're not using 3GB of RAM and a 5400rpm hard disk or something.
     
  11. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #11
    Hardware decoding is usually more a function of the GPU
    and drivers etc. If the new Mac Pro is better in that regard,
    it would likely be a combination of, say, the 4870 + special
    drivers + Quicktime support.

    Note: the 2008 Mac Pros already support hardware accelerated
    decoding under Windows with the 8800GT (I don't know about
    the other cards):

    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2977
     
  12. iBug2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #12
    Yes but not on OS X.
    Currently the only macs known to be supporting hardware acceleration under OS X are Macbooks and Macbook Pro's.
     
  13. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #13
    I'm afraid that's what you get on a minority platform: no hardware
    decoding, no blu-ray, no Photoshop 64-bit, no Maya 64-bit, etc etc.

    But the important thing here is that both the new and old MPs will
    support it, if Apple writes the software. It's not about the machines,
    per se, but the drivers. I.e., it's not about Mac Pro hardware, as the
    subject line indicates. It's about OS X and Apple's willingness to do
    the coding.
     
  14. iBug2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #14
    That's what I'm asking, if Apple DID write it for the Nehalem hardware, ie the new graphics cards. Currently Apple only supports hardware decoding on Macbooks and Macbook Pro's, one would assume they'd also support it on their newest machines. Can someone check this and clarify please? It's not rocket science.
     
  15. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #15
    AVCHD, which you may or may not have heard of, is H.264. And Panasonic, among others, are working on a new AVC-Intraframe compression method. So expect to see more H.264 being used in video editing. It is, after all, the codec of the future.

    The boosts we're seeing are related to SSE 4, aren't they? The instruction set meant to boost video handling in hardware?
     
  16. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #16

    I suppose when you're looking at it that way it makes sense, I'm just used to converting everything to ProRes. So when someone says H.264, I'm thinking of straight up .mp4 files, not m2ts.
     
  17. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #17
    I believe SSE4 is CPU instruction set for multimedia - which is hardware acceleration. But I believe the acceleration the OP is referring to is GPU acceleration which would probably be proprietary to the GPU chipset and would require supporting drivers for OS X.

    If H.264 hardware decoding isn't available for all Macs when Snow Leopard and Quicktime X is released, I'm gonna be annoyed!
     

Share This Page