new Mac Pro - Mavericks as a VM in Parallels?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by michael_aos, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. michael_aos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #1
    Has anyone been able to run Mavericks in a VM via Parallels Desktop on the new Mac Pro?

    My Mavericks VM created on the Mini won't boot in Parallels on the new Mac Pro.

    I've tried a few methods to boot / install Mavericks in a VM in Parallels on the new Mac Pro but haven't had any luck at all.

    I've tried the "new VM from Recovery partition" -- this never worked on the Mini, and continues to not work on the new Mac Pro.

    Created bootable USB, bootable disk images, bootable Recovery CD, (all with a version of Mavericks that IS bootable on the new Mac Pro, and bootable on the Mini) -- Parallels just won't boot them.
    --
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    Just a thought but make sure you're using the most current version of Parallels. There were updates required for Mavericks.
     
  3. GoEagles997 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    #3
    You need Parallels 9 to run Maverick in a VM, but you can Parallels 8 as host OS.
     
  4. michael_aos thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #4
    Yes, running latest update of Parallels 9 from day-1.

    My impression is that running Mavericks in a VM isn't compatible with the new Mac PRo.
    --
     
  5. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    Just for kicks, how about trying to import or install into a VMFusion Ware VM. I like Parallells but always end up back on Fusion. It's just less quirky for me. Fusion has it's little nigglets too, but generally I can always work around them.
     
  6. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    Most likely you'd need to use the build of Mavericks that comes with the Mac Pro, or wait until 10.9.2 ships.
     
  7. michael_aos thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #7
    Yeah, as I stated in my post - tried that.

    ----------

    I'd be willing to jump ship and abandon Parallels if someone can confirm that VMWare works in this case.
     
  8. analog guy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #8
    you can run fusion for 30 days for free as a trial.
     
  9. Flint2525 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester
    #9
    10.9 on VM

    @michael_aos

    Im using Professional Version 6.0.3 (1747349) VMware Fusion
     

Share This Page