NEW Mac Pro Memory

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Brannigan's Law, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. Brannigan's Law macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #1
    I'm looking to add 3 4GB modules (12GB worth) of Kingston memory to a brand new 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Nehalem” Mac Pro. On Apple's website it says "Depending on the processor you choose, the single-processor Mac Pro uses the following types of memory: 2.8GHz and 3.2GHz quad-core processors: 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM."

    Is this correct?
    http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/Kingston-memory-4-GB-DIMM-240-pin-DDR3/1710696.aspx

    I have to order this through CDW (office account).

    Thanks.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
  3. sskino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Burque
    #3
    I ordered three of the Kingston 4GB from Buy.com for around $205. They're the 1333Mhz modules. I think it was the best price I could find at the time on those. And the 1333Mhz are what Apple ships with all the quad/hex core systems. Check them here:

    http://www.buy.com/pr/product.aspx?sku=216998560

    The price might have gone up a few bucks since I ordered but it's still a good deal.
     
  4. sOwL macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #4
    Which Mac Pro are you using? I thought anything after the 2008 model used the 1333 modules.. Also, the memory in the link reports that it is unbuffered. Mac Pros use fully-buffered modules so you might miss out on performance (mem speed and density)
     
  5. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    No and no.

    He said Nehalem Mac Pro, so he has a 2009 machine. 2010 (Westmere) is the only one that can utilise the full speed of 1333 modules - nothing wrong with putting them in a 2009 machine though, they'll just be throttled to 1066.

    Now, you're confusing FB-DIMMs and Unbuffered/Unregistered DIMMs. Only the 2006 and 2008 machines used the expensive FB-DIMM RAM modules. 2009 onwards now use standard DDR3 DIMMs. Doesn't matter if they're buffered or unbuffered.
     
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Nehalem doesn't necessarily mean 2009. The base 2010 SP models (2.8 and 3.2GHz) also use Nehalem processors. Westmeres are only used in the hex and MP versions.

    But yes, 1333MHz memory will be throttled with the 2010 quads and octads to 1066MHz. Hex and 12 core models can utilise the full speed.
     
  7. Porco macrumors 68030

    Porco

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    #7
    Not wanting to thread hijack, but am I right in saying you might as well buy the 1333MHz RAM if you have any possible plan of upgrading the CPU of a quad Nehalem to a hex Westmere in the future? I mean if the price of the RAM is similar it seems daft not to... looking online it seems like the prices are virtually identical (maybe £1 in it for the 12GB I was thinking of getting for my 2010 2.8 MP sometime soon).
     
  8. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    That is correct.
     
  9. sOwL macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #9
    The reason i said this is that it feels like a waste to buy something that you can't get full advantage of. About FB-DIMMs, i didn't know they stopped using those. Isn't that a step backwards?? I always liked having fully buffered dimms
     
  10. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #10
    FBDIMMs are too hot, and too expensive. $200 for 4gb of 667MHz RAM made me sad :-(
     
  11. myosh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #11
    Although the 2009 and 2010 Mac Pros no longer use fully-buffered (FB) DIMMs, the memory modules must still be ECC.
     

Share This Page