new mac pro, nvidia 8800 - 2 displays, problems

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jelloshotsrule, Apr 16, 2008.

  1. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #1
    hi all- so i recently got a new mac pro with the upgraded nvidia 8800... i have a new style apple cinema display (with dvi) and an old style apple display with the adc connector... so i bought one of those hefty dvi-adc adapters.... and i go to connect them, and basically, the dvi spots on the graphics card are *too close together* to fit the two dvi connectors in at the same time! wow...

    has anyone else encountered this? the only thing i can think of doing is getting a dvi extension cable of some sort in the hopes that the end of the extender is smaller somehow than the one from the dvi-adc converter.

    any thoughts?? thanks
     
  2. shokunin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #2
    Did you get the Nvidia upgrade kit? I think mine came with 2 4-5" DVI to DVI extension adapters to assist with your situation. Probably one of these would help you out.
     
  3. jelloshotsrule thread starter macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #3
    hmm. what all is included in the upgrade kit? i got the upgrade with the CTO machine, so it was already installed... i haven't really looked for any extra cables that came with the comp, but i wouldn't be surprised if i have one in there that i didn't see.... i'll check it out. thanks for the tip
     
  4. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #4
    A small adapter comes with the Mac Pro to solve just this problem. It is a DVI to DVI cable about 3 inches long. That's why they bundle it, this has been discussed before.
     
  5. jelloshotsrule thread starter macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #5
    many apologies for not having seen it, and many thanks for pointing out the solution.
     
  6. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #6
    No problem. I assume it fixed the issue?
     
  7. jelloshotsrule thread starter macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #7
    haven't gotten home yet from work, sadly, to try it. will update though!
     
  8. jelloshotsrule thread starter macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #8
    sure enough, connected the included dvi-dvi adapter from the mac pro setup and they both fit now! thanks! :)
     

Share This Page