new mac pro or iMac 5k for fcpx

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gdeusthewhizkid, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. gdeusthewhizkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    NY|NJ
    #1
    hey guys,

    I bought a few pre owned mac pros online for fcpx. they still don't have the speed that I want for editing on fcpx and lightroom and photoshop edits. Ive decided to just save up and get either the 5k iMac or the trash can mac pro.. I need the speed.. what would you guys suggest for heavy video editing and photoshop edits...
     
  2. mdindestin, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    mdindestin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
  3. mdindestin, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    mdindestin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    #3
    Just so i can put things in perspective, did the mac pros have a pcie ssd, powerful open GL upgraded graphics card and plenty of ram?
     
  4. gdeusthewhizkid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    NY|NJ
    #4
    i added 16 gigs of ram.. and upgraded the video cards.. should i put in a 1 gig video card..
     
  5. rawweb, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #5
    For video editing, for that matter really anything, you should see no substantial difference from a properly upgraded 4,1 or 5,1 compared to the 6,1. Trust me, real world experience talking here. I run my business at home on my trusty 12 core 3.33GHz (32gb ram, 4gb GTX 770, PCISSD) 5,1. At work, they got me on a crummy 8 core 3.0GHz 6,1 (64gb of ram and dual D700). Honestly, I see no difference at all. I'm running apps like Premiere Pro, FCPX, Photoshop and Illustrator all day and night. The difference is...my desk at home is nice and neat while my desk at work has thunderbolt drives literally all over the place.

    Save your hard earned money and get a PCIE SSD or something similar in your old mac pro as soon as possible. The biggest bottleneck on the planet is spinning platters. An upgraded video card would be a must as well. MacVidCards has an excellent selection in his store if you want boot screens and full PCI 2 speed in Windows. I highly recommend his services. The old champ also hooked me up with an awesome Bluetooth 4/WifiAC card. My 2010 beast is truly as modern in 2015 as I think I'll ever need it to be. Proof is in the pudding: https://browser.primatelabs.com/user/ryanthewebber

    Also, from experience, FCPX works marginally better with an AMD card. I've got a flashed AMD 3gb R9 280X somewhere in my closet collecting dust...PM me.

    In regards to the Retina iMac...the advantage they have over any MP is the single core speed. A lot of apps out there only naw at one core. So, theoretically, the faster your core speed is, the faster your computer. But I mean really...in my opinion I don't think you would see enough substantial real world difference to justify the cost to get into a Retina iMac...especially when you start adding in the Apple price to add an SSD and the better video card.
     
  6. mdindestin, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    mdindestin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    #6
    I noticed the OP has a 3,1. This is also still plenty quick if properly configured.
     
  7. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Yep, same experience here. I've used various machines, classic Mac Pros and the new 6,1 Mac Pro and I the speed differences are not too noticeable. I was using a 6 core 3.5 ghz and an 8 core 3.0 new Mac Pro. I edit and render using After Effects, heavy Photoshop and Illustrator work.
     
  8. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #8
    Didn't notice that in the OP's sig earlier. The 3,1 processor is a bit trickier to upgrade compared to it's successors, if it's even worth it. Single core scores are a bit low for my taste on the stock apple options...but I still think there's life in that machine with the addition of faster PCI ssd and a nice video card. I bet if tuned right it can scream through day to day HD video editing...photoshop, no problem.
     
  9. gdeusthewhizkid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    NY|NJ
    #9
    hi..
    hey i have a ssd.. it's only 256gb tho.. i currently have 7 terabytes tho.. not sure what ill do with my other drives....
     
  10. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #10
    Is your SSD connected on internal SATA or a PCIe card? If you pick up a PCIe solution you will get some better read/write speeds as you'll be using the full SATA III bus of the SSD because the Mp (3,1, 4,1 5,1) is restricted to SATA II. Since spinning disks don't really saturate SATA II, you could load them up with matching size drives and stripe them for speed.

    My 5,1 setup has a Sonnet Tempo Pro Plus (adds external eSata ports) on a PCIe 2.0 4 lane port. 2x256gb SSD's are RAID 0 providing me with incredibly fast read/write speeds for my main volume, close to 900 MB/s. I've loaded the 4 drive bays giving me 4x2tb RAID 0 (for speed) which gets me an amazing 400+ MB/s on my media volume. Since my 5,1 has SATA II up in the optical bay, I have a 7th drive which is a 4tb green drive for time machine. You can do a lot with these cheese graters! :)
     

Share This Page