New Mac Pro recalled. Anyone else get this call?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JeremyStarseed, May 14, 2012.

  1. JeremyStarseed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #1
    Our recent acquisition (an 8 core) is being replaced due to a supposed fault with a generation of hard drives. This is a little odd, so I thought I'd ask if anyone else has heard from them about the same or some similar issue in the past.
     
  2. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
  3. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #3
    Don't see why you need to replace the whole Mac Pro if its only a defective hard drive.
     
  4. InuNacho macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
  5. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    It seems awfully bizarre (and wasteful) that Apple would decide to replace entire Mac Pro units because of a hard drive recall.

    If only car manufacturers did the same thing. After 4 airbag wiring harness malfunctions within a 4-year period on my VW GTI, I would have loved to be offered a brand new car. Hehe...
     
  6. JeremyStarseed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #6
    Thanks. It did seem a little odd, to say the least. I even thought it could be a scam. Very friendly service person though and so mostly a precaution to ask around.

    All in all, the machine is a dream to work on, haven't been anywhere near pushing it yet even with what I would have previously considered a large project.
     
  7. spacedesign911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    Jeremy, are you in the UK or Ireland? Did you buy online? if so when? I am curious if you were offered an option of a new HD or a new Mac Pro, also curious if they will send you one in advance, are they offering you assistance in cloning your drive etc. I ask because I might just have to pull the trigger on a current model and I would like to be prepared for a new machine arriving then potentially leaving!
     
  8. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    The issue is known, Apple aren't going to sell you a new Mac Pro that has a known faulty drive in it. As such, if you buy one now, you won't get it recalled.
     
  9. Oldschoolwax macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #9

    I guess it hasn't happen on MP's but They had to come in and pull the drives out of all 30 of our 2011 27" iMac's and I had to clone all the damned drives again myself, which really sucked as I had to do it from a third boot option or the install disk because you cannot clone the live partition anymore ( more reason Lion is hated by me ) This was especially fun being that all the user accounts and data from the 3D/Video/CS5.5 data on each machine had to be restored to each numbered machine. <can you tell I'm still not happy about that?>
     
  10. Wardenski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #10
    I do not know if this is related but my new (3 month old) WD Caviar Black has already developed bad sectors. I have suspected this for a while but now I see the spinning beachball a great number of times.

    One or two threads at toms hardware say that WD1002FAEX-00Y9A0 batch contain manufacturing defects.
     
  11. brianric macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    #11
    I've had no problem cloning the active partion on my Mac Pro using Caron Copy Cloner, and I have Lion on my system.
     
  12. Oldschoolwax macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    Yes, but this being a State University I cannot use anything they don't purchase, and being that we got all new machines and software we will not get another dime for 6 years. Funny thing is that Lion would copy the active partition with disk utility when it was first installed, but an update seems to have taken that away. ( Ours shipped with SL and they wanted to use the upgrade before it expired, I was out that day. When I came in I cloned a drive but after they ran updates a bit later you get a message saying no active drive cloning in disk utility. )
     
  13. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #13
    If you cannot get or use inexpensive software you need for a critical function for 6 years, your University is f'd up.
     
  14. Oldschoolwax macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #14
    Yeah, tell me about it. It's been quite challenging for the past few years. We can get things, but it often takes weeks for approval. I hope to see some changes soon or I'm not staying much longer.
     

Share This Page