New Mac Pro USB Hub recommendations

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AppMann, Dec 28, 2013.

1. AppMann macrumors member

Hi,

I am a graphic designer, I ordered my Mac Pro but wont be here till February. :( But I am looking for a USB Hub to keep my desk free of cables. I have two or three drives connected to the Hub.
    I have thinking off this one:
    http://www.amazon.com/Anker®-7-Port...669&sr=1-2&keywords=Anker®+USB+3.0+7-Port+Hub

But I am not fully sure will it be compatible with OS X Mavericks, any recommendations will be grateful.

Thanks in advance. :)

2. Spinland macrumors 6502

Spinland

3. AppMann thread starter macrumors member

4. Spinland macrumors 6502

Spinland

5. AppMann thread starter macrumors member

I forgot I have the cinema display, with three extra ports, so do I really need the USB hub, would you think.

6. Spinland macrumors 6502

Spinland

The Apple Cinema Display is going to expand one of your nMP USB 3
    ports into three USB 2 ports. If you only have USB 2 drives to connect to it then that might be fine, but if you need USB 3 you won't want to go that route.

ETA: besides, do you really want all your display USB ports taken up by drives? Personally I run a Cinema Display also, but those ports are already taken up by my wired keyboard, my Wacom tablet, and the small USB 2 hub I keep on my desk for quick thumb drive access and suchlike.

7. AppMann thread starter macrumors member

I understand, see I don't want to take the risk off buying the one I all ready linked incase it does not work. At present I am using a Windows desktop, as I sold my iMac to purchase the Mac Pro. So I can't even test the Hub, if I had a Mac running 10.9 I would be buy it and try it. But at present I don't have one.

8. Rock Hound macrumors member

9. AppMann thread starter macrumors member

10. wrx09md macrumors member

Read the first post

11. AppMann thread starter macrumors member