New Mac Pro & Video Cards

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nxfxcom, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. nxfxcom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    so currently i have a Mac Pro with 6 Displays (one GTX 285, 2 GT120)
    so my new Mac Pro is arriving on friday and i need to power my 6 displays, i do a lot of 3D PS etc work so i need to high powered video card, i ordered the
    ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB
    which takes up 2 power cords, so how do i get now my other 3 display to hook up? I do not want to start mixing ATI and nvidia and put in GT120s

    any ideas?
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Totally off topic but ....

    Jizzzzzz!

    Your cards now take up what, three power cords and are there only two in the new MPs?
     
  3. wafl iron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    #3
    6 displays? damn

    I can't justify even having 4 at my office computer

    i think after 3 displays, it starts to get counter productive :)
     
  4. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    GT120's don't need powercables.. it's why you could stick like 4 of them into a Mac Pro...

    As for the OP, it was suggested to use the power cable that would drive a secondary optical drive to power a second 5870... I suppose you could go for that?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    You need some PCIe power splitters to power an additional 5770. You can get them from at least eBay but I'm not sure what exactly do you need. Or get it with dual 5770s, no additional cables needed
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    5770 will run three displays, two of them will run 6 total
    and they only need 1 powercable each


    the only other option is to search ebay for 2 used Apple ATI HD2600
     
  7. Etherz10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Your sig says Quadro FX....
     
  8. nxfxcom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #8
    Thanks for all the input, here is what i have figured out so far:
    The GT120's would work, but i heard its a bad idea to mix nvidia and ATI,
    especially when working with OpenGL apps across multiple screens.

    I do not want to go with the 2 lower end ATIs because just so i can fill up my screens, i rather want the higher end on my main display!

    So i think i will try the second optical or get somewhere a splitter.

    Thanks for all your input, but i guess splitter is the best option,
    and then for now use the 5870, and once released get the 4000s in!

    Thank you
     

Share This Page