New Mac Pro will only shut down via Power button

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by STxMacUser, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. STxMacUser macrumors member

    STxMacUser

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #1
    I have had my new Mac Pro for a few weeks now...(and I love it), but I cannot shut down the computer with the screen command from the menu bar. It starts to shut down and close things but never completes the shut down. I have to bold in the power button to do a hard shut down in order to turn it off.

    I don't know if this has something to do with the HDMI connection to my SONY television...but...that certainly is my first suspicion.

    Anyone have this same problem?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    So, it will show you the grey screen with a turning wheel?

    Did you try to wait for a bit longer? e.g. 5min?
     
  3. bxs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #3
    What does system.log show.... maybe some clues will be there. There are a number of things that can stall shutdown. Some are reported explicitly to you via a pop up display and others are silent about stalling the shutdown process.

    What Apps did you have open at the time you shutdown via Apple->Shutdown presumably ?
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    This happens occasionally on my 2012 MBA, never on my 5,1 Mac Pro. It's very random and I don 't know the cause.

    Lou
     
  5. STxMacUser thread starter macrumors member

    STxMacUser

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #5
    After trying to shut down it just closes out Safari and the menu bar disappears. My desktop is all that is showing and yes i have waited much more than 5 minutes to see if it will eventually shut down. I have also tried closing all programs, (i.e. Safari, Exccel, Firefox, etc.) before attempting a shut down and it still fails to shut down.

    I will try looking at the system log to see what I can find....good idea.
     
  6. compute macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #6
    Did this problem occurred from the day you got your new computer or is this a recent problem. Could this have to do with recent updates on the machine?
     
  7. STxMacUser thread starter macrumors member

    STxMacUser

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #7
    So I checked out the system log and did not see anything obvious. But...I closed everything down and it shut down successfully. I was able to close it down twice in a row with no problems. I am thinking now that maybe it has something to do with the incomplete closing of Pro Tools and Eleven Rack Editor.

    Thanks for your input.
     
  8. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #8
    ........................................
    I had it a couple of times. I now take care to close every app before shutting down.
     

Share This Page