New Mac Pro + World of Warcraft (WoW)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BigJuicyVan, Feb 18, 2008.

1. BigJuicyVan macrumors newbie

Hey guys help me out here. I am new to macs, wanted the best they could offer before i became assimilated into the mac world so i waited for the new mac pro. Just got it and the only game i am playing is World of Warcraft. I have the 8800GT video card and 4gb of ram, the rest is as they ship it in their "standard version" of the new Mac Pro's.

I can't get over 60 frames per second with the settings maxed out. Even when i take the Multisampling to 24-Bit Color 24-bit depth 1X Multisample.

Everything is maxed out, everything. I know when i have the multisampling turned up to 4x i should be able to get over 60fps when i am like, looking at the sky or something, but i cant get it over 60fps. What do i need to do? I have read on some Blizzard forums about typing in commands like "/console GLFaster 0/1/2" but none of that is changing anything. I am running 10.5.2 of Leopard.

Help me out here guys.

2. hakuryuu macrumors 6502

My guess is that your card is limiting fps because of the refresh rate of your monitor.

Edit. Especially if you have v-sync/vertical sync enabled.

3. Mac OS X Ocelot macrumors 6502a

Mac OS X Ocelot

You can't get over 60fps? Boo hoo! I play (fairly comfortably) at 16fps. I don't get why you need more than a whopping 60fps.

I don't mean to insult, just saying I cracked up reading that.

4. MadGoat macrumors 65816

MadGoat

I did the same.. 60fps... hel even 30 fps would make me giddy i'm happy with my 16-20 on my MB

Oh yeah , and to add, it's a freaking laptop, you want higher, you should have gotten the Mac Pro 2xquad core

5. Pili macrumors regular

Its the game accounting for the monitor's refresh rate. I have the same thing with my 2407 and 8800gt.

6. OZMP macrumors 6502

consider yourself lucky, with most things maxed, i am lucky to get 18FPS... Turning off V-sync gained me 3FPS, it was ~12-15 before