New Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rantingrich, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. rantingrich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #1
    I have NOT been on here in some time. Some of you may recall I was getting a 12 core MACPRO with a 31 inch dell and a OWC SSD along with the ADOBE MASTER Suite CS6.. YES it cost me one big pile of money but had to be done.

    OH by the way The MACPRO is a 12 core 2.4, 64 gigs of ram, mountain lion 254 g OWC SSD

    Anyways it is fast but not as fast as I was expecting. I use the OWC SSD as my start up and cloned the 7200 drive as well and honestly the only real speed enhancement as far as I can tell is in Starting up and shutting down.

    I do tons of animation with Carrara 8.5 Pro and the rendering is no faster than the 7200 apple drive AS well as the opening, saving and closing of files I can't see and speed increase, frim the 7200 over the SSD.

    I got very excited when I did my first render with my new 12 core as it would appear CARRARA mutli-threads and it now has 24 boxes going across the screen as it renders instead of just 12 OR 4 from my last old loyal Power mac G5. I got very excited

    And if this sounds like bitching so be it! I think my 31 Dell is TOO big! LOL! I think I am getting neck strains from looking around at all this fine large real estate. But i have to say the dell is absolutely beautiful, STUNNING really to think I almost went with the new apple 17 High gloss disaster. If you canb afford the 31 inch DELL it come higly recommended!~ I didnt even has to calibrate it Turned the red down a tad
    Also the dell is build like a tank and more connections on it that John Goddi!

    ALso I am still pizzed about how many of my applications and peripherals are still not supported by the companies yet for Mountain Lion ...
     
  2. gabicava83 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #2
    That is a big investment.

    That should fly.

    I find it very hard to see how you don't see an improvement on the SSD over the 7200 drive. Have you made sure everything is running ok? Checked speeds with others?

    31" is massive, I have a 30" ACD, which I don't enjoy using. I think the best bet for some people are something like 2 x 24".
     
  3. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #3
    Cool setup. The monitor is a bit big. Glad I decided to stay with 24 inch monitors for my set up. Have heard your observation from others too. Now swap out those 2.4's to 3.33ghz and watch it really fly!
     
  4. rantingrich thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #4
    2 set up

    Yea I just recently started working at a news paper that is all mac. I mean GESS the old power mac g5s are literally stacked up like a mountain in one room! It's all minis now! Thinking of offering the boss some money to take them and turn them all into a render for for my animation!!!!

    BUT almost all the monitors are 27 inch ACERS! and most cubicles have 2 of them! At only $250 each its hard to beat! ANd they are sharp!

    The Resolution isn't as great as the dells who cares when you could buy 5 of them for one dell...
     
  5. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #5
    30" ACD too big??? Gosh, I have a 30" and three 23" ACDs hooked up to my Mac Pro and still feel like I could use more display space.
     
  6. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #6
    Hello,

    SSDs are not magical. You should see an overall snappiness in the Finder: if you don't, there may be hidden issues.

    As for the SSD speeding up your apps, it will depend on them: some are bottlenecked by the drives (SSD will help), while others are bottlenecked by the CPU, GPU, etc (SSD will not help). Same thing with cores: are you sure that your apps can use the 24 cores? If not, then a 3.33 hexcore would be much faster than your 2.4 12 core.

    Loa
     
  7. rantingrich thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #7
    No I am not sure my apps will or are suppose to pick up on the new 64 bit stuff! I would hope all the adobe stuff would though!
     
  8. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    You should also notice significant differences in application launch time, versus a mechanical drive.

    But rendering, not so much. Rendering is almost always bottlenecked by CPU and/or GPU.
     
  9. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #9
    64bits won't make any difference, I'm afraid.

    As for hoping... well I'm hoping for world peace, but... :p

    Loa
     
  10. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #10
    I used to have a 27" iMac and I thought that screen was a bit big (and the dpi was too high) caused neck strain and eye strain at native resolutions. I ended up going with 3 - 23" 1080P IPS screens from LG. Not the greatest screens but I don't have the neck and eye strain I used to.
     
  11. rantingrich thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #11
    Seeing

    Well I read endless reviews of the 30 inch dell and the apple 27. I was stunned to read all of the nasty reviews about the apple 27 inch disaster. About half the reviews were about the apple being DOA and no power switch not to mention the incredibility high gloss screen!

    ONE reviewer on apples own website said, 'at least I dont have to get up to look at the squirrles playing in my back yard cause I can watch them in my 27 inch apple monitor. AND at least I can see my boss sneaking up behind me at work! LOL!
     
  12. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #12
    An SSD won't necessarily make rendering any faster, depending on what you are rendering.

    (Carrara is supposed to be 12 core compatible, and OP seeing 12 rendering boxes backs that up.)
     
  13. Luxo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #13
    Depends on if the CPUs are maxxed or not. Storage speed is the biggest bottleneck in rendering these days, not so much the CPU.
     
  14. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #14
    Right, but again, that depends on what you're rendering. A scene with not very many textures isn't likely to hit storage as much, so an SSD won't make a huge difference.

    OP also has 64 gigs of RAM, so it's possible his whole scene is in RAM and his disk will never be touched anyway.
     

Share This Page