New Mac Pros can do 64 Gb ram

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by beto2k7, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. Ravich macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  2. beto2k7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #3
    yes 2009 mac pro's can do this as well ... with the ram speed difference
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    This wasn't a surprise. Even the previous gen supported 1333MHz RAM but Apple limited the firmware to 1066MHz AFAIK. Also, it's GB. 64Gb would be equal to 8GB
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Assuming there are 8-bits in a byte :D
     
  5. Sleephartha macrumors member

    Sleephartha

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    Why do they go to the trouble of specifying the dual processor yet they show the 8GB modules as available for the single processor 2010s. On the upside, they have dropped the price on the 4GB modules. 12GBs is now $499 when it was $549 I believe...
     

Share This Page