New Mac User looking for help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Eljol, Nov 13, 2011.

1. Eljol macrumors newbie

Hello I am new to make, just got my mpb 17 inch a couple weeks ago and was wondering something, I hear that disk cleanup is not necessary on mac since it runs its own cleansing automatically around odd hours 1am and such, my question is, what happens if I am not on at those obscure hours? I am not very fond of leaving my computer on over night, so I wonder if my apple is still getting cleansed on a weekly or monthly basis, even if I am not letting it run over night. Please let me know.

Another question that I have and want to know about is the type of security macs contain. I am well aware that most viruses do nothing to the mac or usually just target windows users, but I have always been the type of person that is better safe than sorry so I would rather have my computer with the software then without it. The process of getting programs for spyware and viruses is usually the first thing I do when I get a computer. Therefore I am wondering if you guys could give me a good combination of a free antivirus software as well as a program that can protect me against spyware,adaware and those type of things. If there is a program that does that all in one please let me know.

My last question is what type of browser do you guys/gals use, I am currently using safari but I have noticed that even though I have my pop up blocker enabled in the drop down menu, I still seem to be getting them when I am streaming movies and don't know why, so I am wondering if there is another browser that better blocks the incoming popups. I have heard of people talking about opera and mozilla's version of firefox and and wondering whether I should switch to those instead of using safari, please let me know about what you guys think as I am trying to get a better handle of my mac and would like to know as much information as possible.

Thank you in advance