New Mac user need some advice on software/questions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by pyrodex, Jan 8, 2009.

1. pyrodex macrumors 6502

pyrodex

First off this isn't my first time using a Mac, well a real one I should say. My previous experience is a hackintosh. Well this year I took the plunge and waited until the 17" new MBP was released. I am a new proud owner of one, but just waiting for it to get here now. So in the meantime I have a few questions maybe someone can help a Windows/Linux user move over to a laptop for full time minus major gaming. WARNING: I am a Unix Systems Engineer so some technical questions here.

1) I know the Macbook doesn't have a Serial port and I need one for my Serial connection to manage Solaris boxes on the serial side when in the data center. Could someone recommend a good USB to Serial converter with SOME cable length on it? I don't need 6 feet but maybe a 3 foot cable would be nice, just don't want something that is a condensed unit if you know what I mean.
    2) Could someone recommend a good Serial console program to go with #1, I've used minicom and SecureCRT to name a few.
    3) I've done some research on backing up the macintosh and need to ask what would be the best solution. I am planning to get a 1TB Time capsule since my current Wi-FI is B so its time to upgrade. I was going to use that for the TimeMachine side and use a FW800 attached Raid 1 system to do drive dumps with SuperDuper. Am I being too paranoid or does that sound solid? Also how would I RESTORE the image in a failed drive or upgrading the drive scenario with SuperDuper?
    4) When new MAJOR OS versions come out like 10.6 and so forth, could I attach a FW800 single drive and install the new OS onto that drive and then give a test run a few hours before I decide to upgrade my internal hard drive? Does the Macbook allow you to boot/install from an external FW/USB drive?